Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Cirax
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: 30 Jan 2017
Location: PV Telescopii

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (0.978e compatibility)

05 May 2017 03:24

TRAPPIST-1 SYSTEM BY CIRAX

New version, full list of changes in my last post.

These are my procedural planets for the TRAPPIST-1 Star.  Four of them lay in the habitable zone (maybe more).

I focused the design in real data from Updated Masses for the TRAPPIST-1 Planets astronomical article April 2017.  In it the estimated mean densities of the planets reveal that the three closest planets are rocky while the rest are near the density of the water making them oceanic or ice worlds.

To add some variety to the oceanic worlds (not just a covered oceanic plain and boring world) I changed the size of the ice layer a some minor differences.

You can download it from here (compatible with 0.980e patch) (21/2/2018 version):

TRAPPIST-1 Cirax.pak
(6.76 KiB) Downloaded 57 times


Hostile versión:

TRAPPIST-1 Hostile Cirax.pak
(6.62 KiB) Downloaded 31 times


To install just copy "TRAPPIST-1 Cirax.pak" inside the addons folder.  Don't forget to rename the extension .pak to something else if you have another mod of the TRAPPIST-1 system.


TRAPPIST-1 b

The closest planet to its sun is heavily affected by the tidal effect from the star making it some kind of hot Io.  It's a volcanic world with few craters and a young surface.  I added in the update a dark lava surface making it IMO a less boring planet. 

Image

Image

TRAPPIST-1 c

This planet is still too close to the sun and due it's estimated mass, (1.63 times the Earth mass) which allow it to sustain a great atmosphere, I supposed is a Venusian world.

In the design I wanted to reflect that in this kind of cloud covered worlds the surface is dark due the fact the clouds reflect most of the light that would come to the surface, so I added another dark cloud layer under the bright one (to add a cloudy effect), darkened a lot the atmosphere but also making it less opaque.

Resuming, from the space the planet looks like Venus (a bight world) but if you land the surface and the sky is dark and the atmosphere is more transparent.

Image

Surface of Trappist-1 c under the clouds:

Image


TRAPPIST-1 d

This rocky world stays close to the habitable zone, the central part of the planet is hot and devoid of any liquid water but in the terminator zone the temperatures are warmer allowing the presence of liquid water.  In that zone I placed a big sea and some big lakes and rivers.

Image
Image


TRAPPIST-1 e

This covered water world has a floating ice layer over it in the nocturnal face. The warm water of the surface coming from the tropics melts part of the ice breaking into the dark side of the globe.

Image

Image

TRAPPIST-1 f

Stil not cold enough to sustain a dense ice layer, Trappist-f has some ice swamps, lakes made when big asteroids broke the ice and rivers where different plates crush together..

Image

Image


TRAPPIST-1 g

It has a dense crust of ice except in the latitudes where the red sun is still enough powerful to melt it and break some parts of the polar cap into icebergs where they float over it until the sun also shrikes them and finally they melt totally. 


Image

Image


TRAPPIST-1 h

The last planet (right now) of TRAPPIST-1 is just an iceworld. There is no liquid water in the surface, it's crossed by multiple cracks and has some craters.  Under the ice layer it could be a liquid water ocean warmed by the hotter mantle.  

Image

Image

That's all, and sorry for my "barbarian" english :)


 
Last edited by Cirax on 04 Mar 2018 04:33, edited 20 times in total.
My work for SE:
Textures for the solar system bodies:Click Here
Catalogs of binary stars, brown dwarfs, black holes and neutron stars (already in official SE).
Proxima b (6 versions):Click Here
Trappist-1: Click Here
 
User avatar
TypicalPerson
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 40
Joined: 10 Jun 2017
Location: Earth

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax

19 Jun 2017 00:50

I downloaded this, and this mod is really awesome. Here's some photos I took of the planets:
► Show Spoiler
 
User avatar
Cirax
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: 30 Jan 2017
Location: PV Telescopii

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE)

08 Aug 2017 03:42

New version of the surface of Trappist-1 b
My work for SE:
Textures for the solar system bodies:Click Here
Catalogs of binary stars, brown dwarfs, black holes and neutron stars (already in official SE).
Proxima b (6 versions):Click Here
Trappist-1: Click Here
 
User avatar
Cirax
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: 30 Jan 2017
Location: PV Telescopii

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

20 Aug 2017 11:03

Hi all, a new version for the system, here is the full list of changes: 

UPDATE2

Changes from the last version
:

--Trappist-1 b: Now has some less volcanoes and less active so I can avoid errors and the artificial grid effect in the distribution of volcanoes (with old value there was a couple of "black hole" errors in the procedural texture generation).


--Trappist-1 c: Temperature of the volcanoes decreased so they are a lot of harder to see from the night side.


--Trappist-1 d: Decreased temperature for volcanoes for the same reason as c.


--Trappist-1 e:
-Changed atmosphere model, it's also more opaque for the stars if you land in the surface, but still transparent looking it from the space.
-Some more clouds.


--Trappist-1 f:
-The swamp and rivers looking of f is now the one of the old trappist-1 g but with a bigger ocean.
-Changed ocean colour.
-Changed atmosphere like in e.


--Trappist-1 g:
-The icebergs sea looking of the old trappist-1 f replaces the old one.  There no rivers or swamps.
-The sea is some bigger to avoid the effect of a vertical cliff between the sea and the polar cap.
-Changed ocean colour.
-Changed atmosphere like in e.


--Trappist-1 h: Decreased brightness to a half.
My work for SE:
Textures for the solar system bodies:Click Here
Catalogs of binary stars, brown dwarfs, black holes and neutron stars (already in official SE).
Proxima b (6 versions):Click Here
Trappist-1: Click Here
 
User avatar
ProximaCentauriB
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Feb 2017

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

29 Dec 2017 19:16

Thank you for this beautiful solar system. I love c especially. The landscape so vast, like it goes on forever.
Space, the final frontier...
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 8 GB
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 335
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

30 Dec 2017 01:46

Nice.
If this can helped, here a screen in the game TerraGenesis use NASA artist planet :
F2F803B2-AAA5-4736-903D-D0AC6805D2C5.jpeg
View of Trappist-1 system in TerraGenesis
 
User avatar
ProximaCentauriB
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Feb 2017

Want to remove patched version's default TRAPPIST-1

01 Jan 2018 14:31

Want to remove patched version's default TRAPPIST-1
And use the Cirax addon instead, as it has all seven plants, as opposed to the default one's four. Right now, I have two TRAPPIST-1 systems in the game. Is there any way to delete the default one?

Thank you.
Space, the final frontier...
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 8 GB
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 968
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

01 Jan 2018 16:55

ProximaCentauriB wrote:
Source of the post Right now, I have two TRAPPIST-1 systems in the game. Is there any way to delete the default one?

ProximaCentauriB, I took the liberty to merge the topic you created into the actual topic of the addon you're referring to, in order to avoid more fragmentation of messages.
In my vanilla copy of SE 0980 I see TRAPPIST-1 having 3 planets. By putting Cirax .pak exactly as it is into addons folder, TRAPPIST-1 and new planets seem correctly managed as I don't see duplications.
Are you sure you don't have another script or .pak for that system?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
ProximaCentauriB
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Feb 2017

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

01 Jan 2018 18:32

I went through my addons folder and also looked through all the scripts I've uploaded. The only reference to TRAPPIST is the Cirax addon. Isn't the addon supposed to override the game's default?

Here are some screencaps showing the duplicate star systems.
TRAPPIST-1 dupe.jpg
menu showing both trappists
scr00173.png
to keep
scr00174.png
to remove
Space, the final frontier...
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 8 GB
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 968
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

02 Jan 2018 02:22

ProximaCentauriB wrote:
Source of the post Isn't the addon supposed to override the game's default?

It does, in SE 0980 with no other addons.
TRAPPIST-1 is a star also known as 2MASSW 23062-05022 from the 2MASS catalog, which in your SE is apparently the parent of itself.
Are you using the patched version SE 0980e? In that case Cirax .pak could be not compatible and it needs to be modified.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 857
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

02 Jan 2018 02:49

ProximaCentauriB wrote:
Source of the post Isn't the addon supposed to override the game's default?

If you use SE 0.980_e, all seven planets must be removed because SE 0.980_e already contains all seven planets.
This is done by this script.
// Remove default Trappist-1 System
// RemDefTrap.sc

Remove "TRAPPIST-1 b" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 c" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 d" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 e" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 f" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 g" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 h" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1" {ParentBody "2MASSW 23062-05022"}

Put it in 'addons\catalogs\planets'

In addition, the old star must be removed. This is done through this script:
// Remove default Trappist-1 System
// RemTrapStar.sc

RemoveStar "2MASSW 23062-05022"

Put it in 'addons\catalogs\stars'
RemTrapStar.sc
(91 Bytes) Downloaded 46 times
(Put in 'addons\catalogs\stars')
RemDefTrap.sc
(455 Bytes) Downloaded 51 times
(Put in 'addons\catalogs\planets')
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Posts: 662
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

02 Jan 2018 03:18

This is probably because catalogs.pak in the 0.980e patch has later modification date than Cirax pak file, so it "patches" the mod. Did you saved the addon paks into 'addons' folder? They must be saved there to avoid such collisions with SE updates, because files in the 'addons' folder have higher priority over files in the 'data' folder.

So, if you want to save addons to the 'data' folder (which is not recommended), you have to change the modification date of Cirax pak file to make it newer than any catalog pak files there. Unpack it and pack it back again with any zip archiver (*.pak is a renamed zip). This way Cirax pak will have later modification date, and will be applied on top of the default catalogs.pak file.
 
User avatar
ProximaCentauriB
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Feb 2017

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

02 Jan 2018 09:22

The .PAK file is saved in the addons folder. I've put nothing in the data folder. I unpacked and repacked the folders into a new TRAPPIST-1 Cirax.pak file in the addons folder and ran the game again. The duplicate systems remain.
new trappist-1 pak.PNG
new pak file
new trappist-1 pak.PNG (21.31 KiB) Viewed 1449 times
Space, the final frontier...
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 8 GB
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 857
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

02 Jan 2018 11:15

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post This is probably because catalogs.pak in the 0.980e patch has later modification date than Cirax pak file, so it "patches" the mod. Did you saved the addon paks into 'addons' folder? They must be saved there to avoid such collisions with SE updates, because files in the 'addons' folder have higher priority over files in the 'data' folder.

So, if you want to save addons to the 'data' folder (which is not recommended), you have to change the modification date of Cirax pak file to make it newer than any catalog pak files there. Unpack it and pack it back again with any zip archiver (*.pak is a renamed zip). This way Cirax pak will have later modification date, and will be applied on top of the default catalogs.pak file.

No.
Cirax uses a 'StarBarycenter' named "TRAPPIST-1 System".
His planets use this name as 'ParentBody'.
Therefore, all planets that use the name "TRAPPIST-1" as 'ParentBody' have to be removed!
The same applies to the star "2MASSW 23062-05022", since Cirax uses a 'StarBarycenter', not a 'Star' in the folder 'catalogs\stars'.
 
User avatar
ProximaCentauriB
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 18 Feb 2017

TRAPPIST-1 System by Cirax (UPDATE2)

02 Jan 2018 16:44

So I need to go in and make those edits to the script file in Notepad? Lemme take a look at it and see if I can. How do I edit the default script though? Can I remove the default system from the game?

The script file for Cirax addon already has them removed:

Remove "TRAPPIST-1 b" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 c" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove "TRAPPIST-1 d" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Space, the final frontier...
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700k 4.0 GHz | GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 8 GB

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest