Page 4 of 8

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 19:53
by A-L-E-X
I was considering adding these, they look gorgeous, but is it worth it?  Looks like people are having problems with the add-on?

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 19:54
by TheRedstoneHive
A-L-E-X wrote:
I was considering adding these, they look gorgeous, but is it worth it?  Looks like people are having problems with the add-on?

Adding what?

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 19:59
by A-L-E-X
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
I was considering adding these, they look gorgeous, but is it worth it?  Looks like people are having problems with the add-on?

Adding what?

the exoplanets listed on the previous page.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 20:12
by TheRedstoneHive
A-L-E-X wrote:
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
I was considering adding these, they look gorgeous, but is it worth it?  Looks like people are having problems with the add-on?

Adding what?

the exoplanets listed on the previous page.

Ok, you probably should give it a try if you want the exoplanets. Though even if it does work, for some people the textures may not work properly.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 20:13
by A-L-E-X
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
Adding what?

the exoplanets listed on the previous page.

Ok, you probably should give it a try if you want the exoplanets. Though even if it does work, for some people the textures may not work properly.

Should I add it to both the patched and pre-patch versions? I'm having issues with some textures with the new patched version.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 20:17
by TheRedstoneHive
A-L-E-X wrote:
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
the exoplanets listed on the previous page.

Ok, you probably should give it a try if you want the exoplanets. Though even if it does work, for some people the textures may not work properly.

Should I add it to both the patched and pre-patch versions? I'm having issues with some textures with the new patched version.

Yes. Unfortunately for me nothing new shows up at all. Did you just put the Addon in the addons folder and it appeared? By the way since no cube-map textures come with the .pak file, the textures may never work. They probably need cube-maps to even load, though I recommend giving the addon a try.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 20:45
by A-L-E-X
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
Ok, you probably should give it a try if you want the exoplanets. Though even if it does work, for some people the textures may not work properly.

Should I add it to both the patched and pre-patch versions? I'm having issues with some textures with the new patched version.

Yes. Unfortunately for me nothing new shows up at all. Did you just put the Addon in the addons folder and it appeared? By the way since no cube-map textures come with the .pak file, the textures may never work. They probably need cube-maps to even load, though I recommend giving the addon a try.

What confused me is that initially people were very excited with the add-on so I thought it was working but the last few people who tried to use it couldn't get it to work, so I wonder if something changed, either with the add-on or because of the patch?  I have both copies of SE and added it to both but I can't seem to "find" it- I still see procedural planets for those systems :(

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 22:14
by JediTrekkie
A-L-E-X wrote:
What confused me is that initially people were very excited with the add-on so I thought it was working but the last few people who tried to use it couldn't get it to work, so I wonder if something changed, either with the add-on or because of the patch?  I have both copies of SE and added it to both but I can't seem to "find" it- I still see procedural planets for those systems :(

what's confusing for some people is they don't realize it doesn't work by simply putting it in addons. you have to put it in addons/catalogs. I think that could be the case, but I usually just put it in the default data/catalogs. 

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 02 Sep 2017 22:59
by A-L-E-X
JediTrekkie wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
What confused me is that initially people were very excited with the add-on so I thought it was working but the last few people who tried to use it couldn't get it to work, so I wonder if something changed, either with the add-on or because of the patch?  I have both copies of SE and added it to both but I can't seem to "find" it- I still see procedural planets for those systems :(

what's confusing for some people is they don't realize it doesn't work by simply putting it in addons. you have to put it in addons/catalogs. I think that could be the case, but I usually just put it in the default data/catalogs. 

Okay, I'll try that then.  There are two add-on files from what I can see, so put them both in that folder?

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 03 Sep 2017 12:52
by TheRedstoneHive
JediTrekkie wrote:
what's confusing for some people is they don't realize it doesn't work by simply putting it in addons.  you have to put it in addons/catalogs. I think that could be the case, but I usually just put it in the default data/catalogs. 

With the .pak files, you usually just put them in the addons folder. Though if it is an .sc file, eg: just a single planet, you would put it in addons/catalogs/planets.
but I usually just put it in the default data/catalogs.

You probably don't want to put addons in the data folder, you should put any addons in the addons folder, that is why there is one.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 04 Sep 2017 01:22
by JackDole
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
Source of the post With the .pak files, you usually just put them in the addons folder.

Usually. If they contain the correct folder structure, that is:
catalogs/
        planets
        stars
        ...
....


The folder structure in 'Exoplanets.pak' is 'wrong'. It has only:
planets
stars

The 'catalogs' folder is missing. Therefore it must be put in 'addons\catalogs'.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 04 Sep 2017 02:56
by A-L-E-X
JackDole wrote:
TheRedstoneHive wrote:
Source of the post With the .pak files, you usually just put them in the addons folder.

Usually. If they contain the correct folder structure, that is:
catalogs/
        planets
        stars
        ...
....


The folder structure in 'Exoplanets.pak' is 'wrong'. It has only:
planets
stars

The 'catalogs' folder is missing. Therefore it must be put in 'addons\catalogs'.

Jack does it work properly with the new version?

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 07 Sep 2017 13:05
by TheRedstoneHive
kham132 wrote:
Update 2

Kepler-22 b
Top is artists rendition, bottom is SE.
Image

I made a slightly different version of Kepler-22 b that looks a bit more like the Artist Rendition. If you want you can use it. (Note: It may look slightly different if you do not have real planet brightness on.)

Kepler-22 b.sc
(5.26 KiB) Downloaded 322 times

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 07 Sep 2017 22:56
by TheRedstoneHive
I slightly changed the mass and the rings on Kepler-22 b, so you may want to re download it.
Sorry if it sounds like I am advertising.

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

Posted: 11 Sep 2017 17:57
by kham132
Holy heck, I haven't been active on these forums. I've been busy with school, so any patched/updates are halted.
TheRedstoneHive, any more edits are great! This addon is open to anyone in any way.
A-L-E-X, download the file from the opening post or the latest post that I make showcasing a patch/update, and remove any older updates.