Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
kham132
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

19 Apr 2017 21:28

Title basically says it all. 
The goal of this was to emulate the look of the artist renditions of the planets, while getting as close as I can to it's ESI. I've kinda given up on the ESI aspect, but kept the looks.


Kepler-452 b
Left is artist rendition, right is from SE.

Image
Kepler-62
The rest of them. Top row is artist rendition, bottom is from SE.
Image
Gliese 667 C System
Gliese 667 C c is based on the artist rendition of it's surface, while the rest of the planets are from this video; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MC881K9WJmU
The top is the artist rendition, bottom is in SE. It was especially challenging for me to get the right atosphere colors for this planet. On the right is C c from space.
Image
Kepler-47
Top is artist rendition, bottom is SE. Unconfirmed Kepler-47 d also added.
Image
Image
Kepler-69
Top is artist rendition, bottom is SE.
Image
Kapteyn b
Left is artist rendition, right is from SE.
Image
Proxima b
Top is artist rendition, bottom is SE.Image
Image
There is probably more that I didn't show. As always, recommendations and edits are always welcome! 

INSTRUCTIONS
Put the Exoplanets.pak file into addons/catalog. If you are downloading an update/patch, remove the old version. If there are any errors/bugs, then post them here!
Attachments
Exoplanets.pak
(52.66 KiB) Downloaded 187 times
Last edited by kham132 on 11 Sep 2017 18:03, edited 17 times in total.
 
Terran
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Nov 2016

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

25 Apr 2017 11:22

Why do you have TRAPPIST-1 g as an Ice Giant?
Just passing through this reality! Same Terran from the older site.
 
User avatar
WildOne657
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 24
Joined: 20 Dec 2016
Location: México

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

25 Apr 2017 15:21

Awesome! But, Why TRAPPIST-1 G is a gas giant?
"The universe seems neither benign nor hostile, merely indifferent"

-Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
kham132
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

25 Apr 2017 19:03

I tried as hard as I could to make it look like the artists impressions while still making it a solid planet, but it didn't work out.
If you're bothered by that, I'll come up with something.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

25 Apr 2017 23:42

kham132, there are other solutions.  You just need to change planetary surface colors and adjust the twisting of the clouds.  I could throw something together pretty quickly if you want.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Betelgeuze
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 86
Joined: 24 Apr 2017
Location: Belgium

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

26 Apr 2017 00:08

kham132, It should be desert planet with venus-like striped clouds not ice giant or gas giant like as on first Trappist-1 System picture by artists

Also Trappist-1 g have 0.08 earth mass. it's too small/not enough mass to be ice giant or gas giant

This an example (striped clouds):

Image
 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 108
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Kepler-186 f
Contact:

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

26 Apr 2017 16:39

Looks good!
 
User avatar
kham132
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

26 Apr 2017 17:24

DoctorOfSpace, I already got something, but I'm interested in what you'd come up with!
Image
Attachments
TRAPPIST-1 G Rocky.sc
(1.58 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 108
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Kepler-186 f
Contact:

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

26 Apr 2017 18:04

kham132 wrote:
DoctorOfSpace, I already got something, but I'm interested in what you'd come up with!
Image

You should make these mods into .pak files.
 
User avatar
kham132
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

26 Apr 2017 20:34

TheRedstoneHive, how would I do that?
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

26 Apr 2017 23:42

kham132 wrote:
Source of the post DoctorOfSpace, I already got something, but I'm interested in what you'd come up with!

Doesn't look like I need to bother with it, you got it pretty good.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 108
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Kepler-186 f
Contact:

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

27 Apr 2017 13:09

kham132 wrote:
TheRedstoneHive, how would I do that?

Do you have WinRAR ZIP archive?
 
User avatar
kham132
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

27 Apr 2017 17:40

TheRedstoneHive, yep.
 
User avatar
davidrn
Observer
Observer
Posts: 12
Joined: 23 Apr 2017
Location: Earth

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

28 Apr 2017 08:09

Great!
Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
- Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 108
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Kepler-186 f
Contact:

Artist Rendition-Accurate Exoplanets

28 Apr 2017 13:03

kham132 wrote:
TheRedstoneHive, yep.

Create a WinRAR ZIP archive, in there, create a folder called "catalogs" and in that folder create a folder called "planets". Copy and Paste all the .sc files for planets into the planets folder, then in the WinRAR system, exit the WinRAR zip for your mod, and rename the zip archive to <Name of Mod>.pak, But make sure you are using the WinRAR zip system to rename the WinRAR.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest