Page 5 of 7

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 10 Aug 2017 09:38
by Cinderwolf
JackDole wrote:
Cinderwolf wrote:
Source of the post I was sure there was supposed to be an 's' in there...

In older SE versions it was 'spacecrafts', with 's' at the end.

I think the very first post in this thread will need to be updated with the correct directory structure as it seems it's mislead a few in the past until now! :)

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 10 Sep 2017 01:15
by Rudolf
hey ppl!
i have 3 questions.
first of all, the units used in the sss files are meters?
and secondly, how can i make a single docking port?
are the ships always docking up with their middle point, or can i make them to dock up with some other part of their models?
im thinking about making or editing big stations, and make them able to have bigger ships docked up as well, without looking really weird, and clipping into eachother.
thanks

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 10 Sep 2017 18:00
by Mr. Abner
Rudolf wrote:
hey ppl!
i have 3 questions.
first of all, the units used in the sss files are meters?
and secondly, how can i make a single docking port?
are the ships always docking up with their middle point, or can i make them to dock up with some other part of their models?
im thinking about making or editing big stations, and make them able to have bigger ships docked up as well, without looking really weird, and clipping into eachother.
thanks

Firstly, have you read this:

http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-ad ... ng-a-ship/

And yes, units in ship files are meters.

Both ships need a docking port in order to dock. Although I'm not sure how SE will behave if two ships attempting to dock both have more than one docking port.

If you have a ship selected in SE, you can press shift-F2 to enter the ship editor. You can add, move, and rotate as many docking ports as you wish. Or you can edit the .cfg file for the ship. (Either unzip the .pak file or edit an existing ship and save it, it will create a new .cfg file for it to see existing ship docks.)

Hope that helps.

-Alex

(Edit: Doh! editor is shift-F2, not just F2.)

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 11 Sep 2017 09:19
by Rudolf
hey alex (or mr. abner sire lol)
i wasnt aware, se has a working ship editor.... i was looking for it at the main menu lol
thanks, its gonna help a lot

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 13 Sep 2017 08:26
by Mr. Abner
Rudolf wrote:
hey alex (or mr. abner sire lol)
i wasnt aware, se has a working ship editor.... i was looking for it at the main menu lol
thanks, its gonna help a lot

Made a small edit to my previous post: the in-game editor is accessed via shift-F2, not just F2. Hope I didn't cause anybody any grief and frustration. ;)
-Alex 

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 15 Sep 2017 02:16
by A-L-E-X
That's going to be my next goal- ship and plane building! How do you cram so much stuff into a 1.5 GB program?!  An entire universe full of worlds that can be explored and a flight simulator on top of that? I have a 15 GB program that doesn't do all this (that I paid $300 for!)  The only thing it does that SE doesn't do is plot the motion of stars and galaxies and the solar system from 10 million years in the past to 10 million years in the future.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 26 Sep 2017 17:36
by Mr. Missed Her
I downloaded the downloadable editor, but when I tried to run it, it says that my graphics card does not support webGL. I tried enabling it in Chrome (which, somehow, the editor seems to use), but no luck. Any help?

But I could use the online editor, and I created this:
ImageImage
The Blockade Runner, a compact ship with one purpose: don't get destroyed. That is, other than moving things from planet to planet. It has heavy armor and powerful thrusters, and is capable of 33 g's of accel if it isn't transporting humans.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 06 Jan 2018 21:13
by Hyper Quantum
So while trying to edit the performance of my space craft, I changed the file to a Notepad to edit the performance of it. Now, I am with a file that won't be accepted by the sc-editor, since it's not a JSON. How exactly would I go about reconverting the file?

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 06 Jan 2018 23:39
by SpaceEngineer
Hyper Quantum, you can't - you have to save json as well as the sss.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 07 Jan 2018 07:30
by HarbingerDawn
Hyper Quantum wrote:
Source of the post How exactly would I go about reconverting the file?

JSON is a plain text file. There is no conversion necessary. Just change the file extension.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 07 Jan 2018 11:05
by Hyper Quantum
Ok, I was able to do that, but I got: 'Cannot parse file: SyntaxError: Unexpected token N'.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 07 Jan 2018 12:23
by Mosfet
If by saying "edit the performance" you mean changing parameters of a .sss file, then I'm afraid SpaceEngineer is right.
.JSON files and .sss files are not interchangeable. If you have not saved your spacecraft to file (JSON) before exporting it to SpaceEngine (sss), the only way you have to work again on your spacecraft in the editor is by recreating it from scratch.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 07 Jan 2018 14:38
by Hyper Quantum
[quote="Mosfet"]edit the performance[/quote]


What I mean by editing the performance, is that I went in and changed the ship's maximum forward and reverse engine power and its warp drive's maximum boost exponent number.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 08 Jan 2018 01:06
by tornadotodd
I need a program that I can import ships into SE ship editor, so that I can save the files that I need and get the ships into the game. I am pretty confused on how to do this. I found a program that has numerous file ext that I can save in. I have tried many and I always get an error. Only when I save a model as a JASON file do I not get an error but the model doesn't show up in the editor.. Sorry guys I am such a noob but I have been trying to figure this out all day.

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 08 Jan 2018 01:09
by tornadotodd
Would I just skip importing them into the editor altogether? And if so what is the best program to use? At that point do I borrow the code from the editor and do trial and error> I am so lost lol.