Page 5 of 5

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 10 Aug 2017 09:38
by Cinderwolf
JackDole wrote:
Cinderwolf wrote:
Source of the post I was sure there was supposed to be an 's' in there...

In older SE versions it was 'spacecrafts', with 's' at the end.

I think the very first post in this thread will need to be updated with the correct directory structure as it seems it's mislead a few in the past until now! :)

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 10 Sep 2017 01:15
by Rudolf
hey ppl!
i have 3 questions.
first of all, the units used in the sss files are meters?
and secondly, how can i make a single docking port?
are the ships always docking up with their middle point, or can i make them to dock up with some other part of their models?
im thinking about making or editing big stations, and make them able to have bigger ships docked up as well, without looking really weird, and clipping into eachother.
thanks

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 10 Sep 2017 18:00
by Mr. Abner
Rudolf wrote:
hey ppl!
i have 3 questions.
first of all, the units used in the sss files are meters?
and secondly, how can i make a single docking port?
are the ships always docking up with their middle point, or can i make them to dock up with some other part of their models?
im thinking about making or editing big stations, and make them able to have bigger ships docked up as well, without looking really weird, and clipping into eachother.
thanks

Firstly, have you read this:

http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-ad ... ng-a-ship/

And yes, units in ship files are meters.

Both ships need a docking port in order to dock. Although I'm not sure how SE will behave if two ships attempting to dock both have more than one docking port.

If you have a ship selected in SE, you can press shift-F2 to enter the ship editor. You can add, move, and rotate as many docking ports as you wish. Or you can edit the .cfg file for the ship. (Either unzip the .pak file or edit an existing ship and save it, it will create a new .cfg file for it to see existing ship docks.)

Hope that helps.

-Alex

(Edit: Doh! editor is shift-F2, not just F2.)

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 11 Sep 2017 09:19
by Rudolf
hey alex (or mr. abner sire lol)
i wasnt aware, se has a working ship editor.... i was looking for it at the main menu lol
thanks, its gonna help a lot

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 13 Sep 2017 08:26
by Mr. Abner
Rudolf wrote:
hey alex (or mr. abner sire lol)
i wasnt aware, se has a working ship editor.... i was looking for it at the main menu lol
thanks, its gonna help a lot

Made a small edit to my previous post: the in-game editor is accessed via shift-F2, not just F2. Hope I didn't cause anybody any grief and frustration. ;)
-Alex 

Online spacecraft editor

Posted: 15 Sep 2017 02:16
by A-L-E-X
That's going to be my next goal- ship and plane building! How do you cram so much stuff into a 1.5 GB program?!  An entire universe full of worlds that can be explored and a flight simulator on top of that? I have a 15 GB program that doesn't do all this (that I paid $300 for!)  The only thing it does that SE doesn't do is plot the motion of stars and galaxies and the solar system from 10 million years in the past to 10 million years in the future.