Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
 
User avatar
SuperMarioFan126
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Location: Kerbal Space Center, Kerbin
Contact:

Star Wars addons

14 May 2019 21:42

I noticed the same thing when I visited Bop and Gilly in the Kerbal Space Program mod!
We always need to add more boosters.
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

28 Jun 2019 12:07

Should we make separate versions of the Star Wars galaxy addon for 0.980 and 0.990, or should we try to make one addon compatible with both versions? The first thing that needs to be done to ensure 0.990 compatibility is to remake the cubemap textures for Coruscant and Nar Shaddaa so that they use 256-pixel tiles instead of 130:
Image

But the more troublesome part of the job is the line in the infobox that says "Real object". In order to replace it with "Object from franchise 'Star Wars'", the addon will need a new locale\eng-db.cfg file containing entries in this format:
PObject
{
    LocName   "Coruscant"
    Name      "Coruscant"
    Parent    "Coruscant Prime"
    Franchise "Star Wars"
}

So somebody will have to write a program that extracts the name and parent of every galaxy, cluster, nebula, star, planet, moon, dwarf planet, dwarf moon, asteroid and comet in all of the Star Wars catalogs, and creates PObject entries in eng-db.cfg for all of them.
 
kosmitek
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Jun 2019

Star Wars addons

31 Mar 2020 02:48

Is there a working planetary systems add-on from Star Wars for SE version 0.99? Or any other from SF movie? Ok, its ONE great Star Trek addon and Avatar Pandora system, I got it.
Last edited by kosmitek on 31 Mar 2020 06:42, edited 3 times in total.
 
User avatar
miniluv73
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 55
Joined: 25 Mar 2020
Location: Flying through the Universe

Star Wars addons

31 Mar 2020 03:49

I found a catalog error with this addon - In the Solar System, there is a small asteroid called (3752) Camillo, and it has 3 major moons orbiting it, and the planet Camillo (of the Dantooine System) has no moons at all.
"I'm sure the universe is full of intelligent life. It's just been too intelligent to come here."
Arthur C. Clarke, 1996
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 408
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

01 Apr 2020 04:54

Julian wrote:
Should we make separate versions of the Star Wars galaxy addon for 0.980 and 0.990, or should we try to make one addon compatible with both versions? The first thing that needs to be done to ensure 0.990 compatibility is to remake the cubemap textures for Coruscant and Nar Shaddaa so that they use 256-pixel tiles instead of 130:
Image

But the more troublesome part of the job is the line in the infobox that says "Real object". In order to replace it with "Object from franchise 'Star Wars'", the addon will need a new locale\eng-db.cfg file containing entries in this format:
PObject
{
    LocName   "Coruscant"
    Name      "Coruscant"
    Parent    "Coruscant Prime"
    Franchise "Star Wars"
}

So somebody will have to write a program that extracts the name and parent of every galaxy, cluster, nebula, star, planet, moon, dwarf planet, dwarf moon, asteroid and comet in all of the Star Wars catalogs, and creates PObject entries in eng-db.cfg for all of them.

Very sorry for a late reply.
I think we can update the version 0.980 to 0.990 but for compatibility with 0.980 users, we need to edit all Tile in script to 256. But someone put the addons on the workshop so maybe is update texture.

PS : I made a backup of the repository.
► Information
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1864
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Star Wars addons

11 Apr 2020 14:00

Does anyone have the original textures for Coruscant, Mustafar and Nar Shaddaa? (Not the cubemaps.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 408
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

12 Apr 2020 02:18

JackDole wrote:
Does anyone have the original textures for Coruscant, Mustafar and Nar Shaddaa? (Not the cubemaps.)

Yes, I have original textures, I update the GitHub with updated the textures but original textures are here.
Do you want I add you to contributor of the GitHub project ?
► Information
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1864
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Star Wars addons

12 Apr 2020 06:40

Quarior wrote:
Source of the post Do you want I add you to contributor of the GitHub project ?

Not now.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 408
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

13 Apr 2020 02:50

Julian wrote:
Source of the post So somebody will have to write a program that extracts the name and parent of every galaxy, cluster, nebula, star, planet, moon, dwarf planet, dwarf moon, asteroid and comet in all of the Star Wars catalogs, and creates PObject entries in eng-db.cfg for all of them.

I made it in Python (see here).
miniluv73 wrote:
Source of the post I found a catalog error with this addon - In the Solar System, there is a small asteroid called (3752) Camillo, and it has 3 major moons orbiting it, and the planet Camillo (of the Dantooine System) has no moons at all.

Fixed.
► Information
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

07 Jun 2020 22:21

I updated the GitHub repository with side textures for the galaxies, but I don't know how to make the dust clouds less dense.
Image

The next thing that needs to be done in order for the Star Wars addon to be fully compatible with 0.990 is to create a .cfg file in textures\terrain\samples for every planet with custom terrain colors.
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 408
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

13 Jun 2020 05:10

Julian wrote:
Source of the post I updated the GitHub repository with side textures for the galaxies, but I don't know how to make the dust clouds less dense.

Ok. But I don't know also for the dust. I think is a question of RGB channel.

Julian wrote:
Source of the post The next thing that needs to be done in order for the Star Wars addon to be fully compatible with 0.990 is to create a .cfg file in textures\terrain\samples for every planet with custom terrain colors.

I'm sad is obsolete, I don't know if a future update of SE made compatible this. I think is more difficult with the previous script I made because I think is depend to the class of the planet/moon and also to convert to "terrain color samples". Any help is welcome.
► Information
 
User avatar
Julian
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Star Wars addons

13 Jun 2020 22:11

Quarior wrote:
I think is more difficult with the previous script I made because I think is depend to the class of the planet/moon and also to convert to "terrain color samples". Any help is welcome.

I'm not sure that the terrain samples can be generated automatically. Should we create a separate fork in GitHub for the 0.980 version of the addon and work on 0.990 compatibility in the main fork?
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 408
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Star Wars addons

23 Jun 2020 04:23

Julian wrote:
Quarior wrote:
I think is more difficult with the previous script I made because I think is depend to the class of the planet/moon and also to convert to "terrain color samples". Any help is welcome.

I'm not sure that the terrain samples can be generated automatically. Should we create a separate fork in GitHub for the 0.980 version of the addon and work on 0.990 compatibility in the main fork?

I already made a backup here so don't edit this, is for 0.980 mainly.
For the terrain samples, I see there are many terrain samples to made (~700) but I think you are maybe right because is very different. Or maybe there are a default file for Terra, Aquaria/Ocean/IceWorld, GasGiant and after, change just the Color line.
For the moment, I made a pause on modding but I could try later but no problem for asking some to find a idea (maybe JackDole ?).
► Information
  • 1
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest