Ultimate space simulation software

 
senuaafo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Aug 2018

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Apr 2019 15:56

Yeah, that's about how I want it to look. I'm wondering if there is some Dell card issue or something.

Could all those warnings mean some of the layers aren't being activated on the Dell....?

….and what does it mean when they are running on the hardware instead of whatever way it
was expecting to run?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1394
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Apr 2019 22:30

senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post I'm wondering if there is some Dell card issue or something.

It might have something to do with the fact that you still use an old Windows version. (Windows XP?) As a result, your video driver version is also quite old. (Do you have the latest driver version available for your video card?) Maybe this could be the reason that some things are not what they should be.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
senuaafo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Aug 2018

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Apr 2019 13:43

I made sure to do all the updates towards the end of Microsoft's service period before they discontinued support for XP back in Apr 2014.

Before I downloaded SE, I saw in the requirements list that It would run on XP. If there are other caviots for it running on XP or on my Dell Vostro machine, then I'm hoping some eagle eyed expert on this site might catch it and steer me in the right direction if need be.

I've posted the start-up SE.log files in previous posts here for the Dell.

This Dell was disconnected from the internet back in 2014, and since, just used as an off-line work projects machine for such things like Blender, and custom stuff. I've kept it on XP because several of my older programs run really well on it but have problems on newer OS's.
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Apr 2019 17:06

I am trying to make a nebula but it just doesn't show up, even with textures.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1394
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Apr 2019 23:17

Arturo100 wrote:
Source of the post I am trying to make a nebula but it just doesn't show up, even with textures.

Post your scripts. Both scripts. That in 'addons\catalogs\nebulae' and that in 'addons\models\nebulae'.
(If you do not have your scripts in these folders, then that would be already an error.)
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
John Savior
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Apr 2019
Location: Argentina

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Apr 2019 15:06

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Hi everyone,  i have been trying for many days to get my ship model to work on SE but its been impossible[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]I made a .obj with blender and i have the .mtl Both placed in the models and textures folders respectively.[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][size=100] [/size][/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]i followed the instructions here [url=http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-addons/creating-a-ship/]http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-addons/creating-a-ship/[/url] and re-read a hundred times[/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]in the log the error is[/font]
[code][02] Loading  model "#/models/spacecraft/addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\StandardTurret\standardturret.obj"
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][02] ERROR: seMesh::LoadOBJ(): Error opening the file "#/models/spacecraft/addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\StandardTurret\standardturret.obj"[/font]
[02] No new materials, materials library has not been created[/code]

the folders directories:
SpaceEngine\addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\standardturret.obj
SpaceEngine\addons\StandardTurret\textures\spacecraft\standardturret.mtl

all texture images are jpgs and pngs, all placed in the textures folder along with the mtl

my export settings from blender (only the boxes ticked):
Apply Modifiers
Include Edges
Smooth Groups
Write Normals
Triangulate Faces
Include UVs
Write Materials
[size=100]Objets as OBJ objects[/size]

[size=100]I have many ideas for modelling and using in Space Engine, I actually learned to use Blender in these past weeks only with the purpose of exporting to SE. I really want to start testing and sharing with you guys all these crazy stuff i have in my brain xD.[/size]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Thanks [/font][img=24x24]http://forum.spaceengine.org/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.png[/img]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]J.Savior[/font]
 
User avatar
John Savior
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Apr 2019
Location: Argentina

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Apr 2019 16:08

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Hi everyone,  i have been trying for many days to get my ship model to work on SE but its been impossible[/font][/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif]I made a .obj with blender and i have the .mtl Both placed in the models and textures folders respectively.[/font][/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif][size=100] [/size][/font][/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif]i followed the instructions here [url=http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-addons/creating-a-ship/]http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-addons/creating-a-ship/[/url] and re-read a hundred times[/font][/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif]in the log the error is[/font][/font]
[code][02] Loading  model "#/models/spacecraft/addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\StandardTurret\standardturret.obj"[/code]
[code][font=Roboto, sans-serif][/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif][02] ERROR: seMesh::LoadOBJ(): Error opening the file "#/models/spacecraft/addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\StandardTurret\standardturret.obj"[/font][/font][font=Roboto, sans-serif][/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][02] No new materials, materials library has not been created[/code]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]the folders directories:[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]SpaceEngine\addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\standardturret.obj[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]SpaceEngine\addons\StandardTurret\textures\spacecraft\standardturret.mtl[/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]all texture images are jpgs and pngs, all placed in the textures folder along with the mtl[/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]my export settings from blender (only the boxes ticked):[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Apply Modifiers[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Include Edges[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Smooth Groups[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Write Normals[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Triangulate Faces[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Include UVs[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Write Materials[/font]
[font=Roboto, sans-serif][size=100]Objets as OBJ objects[/size][/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif][size=100]I have many ideas for modelling and using in Space Engine, I actually learned to use Blender in these past weeks only with the purpose of exporting to SE. I really want to start testing and sharing with you guys all these crazy stuff i have in my brain xD.[/size][/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif]Thanks [/font][img=24x24]http://forum.spaceengine.org/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.png[/img][/font]

[font=Roboto, sans-serif][font=Roboto, sans-serif]J.Savior[/font][/font][/font][/font][/font][/font][/font][/font]
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1318
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Apr 2019 16:52

I'd check your .sss files for correct paths. May we see your .sss file? Use https://pastebin.com/ to post your file, and give us here the address of the file.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
John Savior
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Apr 2019
Location: Argentina

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Apr 2019 22:10

Here goes the .sss file
I really hope the problem is just a coding error i made
thanks for answering
also i dont know why the weird tags with the font name appeared inside the post (yeah, i am like super newbie)

[url=https://pastebin.com/embed_js/k9WB0ZjR]https://pastebin.com/embed_js/k9WB0ZjR[/url]

i also place the .sss text over here as it is not too long (its only one module)
[code]Name    "Standard Turret"
Class   "Probe"
Pack     "My Models"
Faction  "Military Module"
Length   0
Offset  (0 0 0)
Quat    (0.70710678 -0.70710678 0 0)
Mass     1000
Albedo   0.05
Exposure 2.25
Color   (1 1 1)
MainEngines  85
RetroEngines 0
HoverEngines 0
CorrEngines  2
TurnEngines  0.002
WarpBoostLog 0
Warpdrive    false
Aerodynamics false


Module  "Main"  { "addons\StandardTurret\models\spacecraft\StandardTurret\standardturret.cfg" (-1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 1) }[/code]
 
senuaafo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 31
Joined: 21 Aug 2018

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Apr 2019 22:33

Blue holes in my oceans

I make custom planets in SE, but I keep getting these curious dark blue patches
 in the oceans and it ruins the overall realistic look that they would otherwise have.

I do not want them there and need to know how to get rid of them.

They are visible in the previous pictures I have already posted of my custom planet.

https://flic.kr/p/24QpJbz

The scripts have also already been posted.

https://pastebin.com/q3cZsduB

Thanks,
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 473
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Apr 2019 22:40

Those are called Mares. Setting mareDensity and mareFreq to 0 might help. :)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Topic Author
Posts: 621
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

22 Apr 2019 04:15

John Savior, your path is incorrect. The path should be relative to .../models/spacecraft/ so your path should be "StandardTurret/standardturret.cfg". You must also use forward slash and not backslash.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

22 Apr 2019 17:34

I don't know how to post my large file. Also I am making a ring of objects, but the last object always goes faster than the rest.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1394
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

22 Apr 2019 23:43

senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post I make custom planets in SE, but I keep getting these curious dark blue patches
in the oceans and it ruins the overall realistic look that they would otherwise have.

That's a known bug.

Arturo100 wrote:
Source of the post I don't know how to post my large file. Also I am making a ring of objects, but the last object always goes faster than the rest.

Maybe you could just post the affected object. And one of the others.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
John Savior
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Apr 2019
Location: Argentina

Help with creating Mods and Addons

23 Apr 2019 05:09

HarbingerDawn thanks for replying (you are awesome, by the way) i fixed that as well but i believe the problem is in the export, i must be doing things in a way SE cant read the .obj because error keeps coming, i will give it a try another time when i have learned a little bit more.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest