Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
xingqiu1
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 153
Joined: 30 Jun 2018
Location: Earth2.0

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 Mar 2019 14:15

Arturo100 wrote:
It didn't really work, the land was still tannish, even with life. Also how do you add city lights.
Edit: The only way for me to have green landmasses is to edit a existing planet and put life on it then export that.

You're posting your planetary script here. Let me see.
To make city lights, you need to make glow textures. To make glow texture, you can click the link below, download the city light brush, and make glow texture in Photoshop.

https://fbrushes.com/city-lights-brushes/
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 Mar 2019 18:14

Sorry, but I don’t really have photoshop, maybe I will just do my own custom night texture with GIMP or something.
 
senuaafo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 36
Joined: 21 Aug 2018

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Mar 2019 20:22

I have had a similar issue.....

Tau Ceti has disappeared on me.

It started out having about 9 or 10 planets around it. When I added one of my own in the addons/catalogs/planets folder,
all the planets dissappeared and only the one I added shows up.

Worse, about half the time (quite at random it seems) whenever I add anything to do with Tau Ceti into the saved locations window (flag button), it forgets them the next time around I try to go to it. I get the message, "object not found"....

and

whenever I do a search on anything Tau Ceti (magnify glass button), I get the same result when I select them from the suggest box -> message, "object not found", or sometimes there is simply no reaction.

Funny thing is, everything I did to Tau Ceti I also did (exactly) to the star Procyon, yet I have no issues with that bunch of objects what-so-ever.

What's going on please?

thank you,
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1351
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Mar 2019 01:05

senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post When I added one of my own in the addons/catalogs/planets folder,
all the planets dissappeared and only the one I added shows up.

That's the intended behavior, when SE finds a planet script it will ignore the procedural ones (automatically calculated) on that star.
If you want to preserve also the procedural planets, you'll have to export the entire system, then add your planet in it.

senuaafo wrote:
Source of the post What's going on please?

senuaafo, please use https://pastebin.com/ to post your se.log file, which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, and give us here the address of the file.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Mar 2019 20:12

How do you add custom info to a system, I am making an addon with odd systems and I want to know how to put info.
 
User avatar
soldies502
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 57
Joined: 02 Jul 2018
Location: Clay County, Missouri, USA

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Mar 2019 20:52

Arturo100 wrote:
How do you add custom info to a system, I am making an addon with odd systems and I want to know how to put info.

All I know is that it is supposed to be in a .cfg file.
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

18 Mar 2019 21:17

Ok then, how do you structure it though? Like is it in its own folder or in the object’s folder?
 
luigi451518
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Mar 2019

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 04:41

Hmm how can i create a dark nebula?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1351
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 08:23

Arturo100 wrote:
Ok then, how do you structure it though? Like is it in its own folder or in the object’s folder?

Wiki info material that can be distributed with an addon it's a feature that will be available in 0990 version.
it will have to be placed in a "locale" folder existing along the existing "catalogs", "models" or "textures", named "<WhateverYouWant>-eng-db.cfg" for english wiki, "<WhateverYouWant>-ger-db.db" for german, and so on.

With the 0980 version the only way you can pass your custom wiki info is to write your description by editing the wiki, make sure to deselect "Real Object" tag so it will be saved in a "user-eng-db.cfg" file , then distribute that "user-eng-db.cfg" file with your addon.
I know, it's complicated.

luigi451518 wrote:
Hmm how can i create a dark nebula?

See the chapter manual Creating a Deep Space Object. SE should use the alpha channel of a texture to calculate the dust in custom nebulae.
I suggest to copy and extract NebulaeTex0980.pak from \data\textures\nebulae (it's a renamed .zip file), and NebulaeModels0980.pak from \data\modules\nebulae, so you can see the script structure of the existing nebulae in SE.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
luigi451518
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Mar 2019

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 09:05

Ok i did look into the models and textures of the nebulas, but is it possible to add the model onto my custom nebula?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1351
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 13:51

Your nebula model has to be made by using the instructions in the chapter I linked, particularly in "Creating a custom 3D model for a galaxy or nebula".

You'll find a PDF conversion of the online manual in my mods page, if you prefer the manual in a more classic form.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 16:17

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Wiki info material that can be distributed with an addon it's a feature that will be available in 0990 version.it will have to be placed in a "locale" folder existing along the existing "catalogs", "models" or "textures", named "<WhateverYouWant>-eng-db.cfg" for english wiki, "<WhateverYouWant>-ger-db.db" for german, and so on.With the 0980 version the only way you can pass your custom wiki info is to write your description by editing the wiki, make sure to deselect "Real Object" tag so it will be saved in a "user-eng-db.cfg" file , then distribute that "user-eng-db.cfg" file with your addon.I know, it's complicated.

Thanks, also how do you put an object in another galaxy? 
Where do I put the .cfg file though?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1351
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 16:57

You can't put an object in another galaxy because SE doesn't have yet the necessary precision. Don't quote me on that, but maybe you can place it in Magellan Clouds.

In SE 0980 you'll have warn your users that your modified .cfg database will have to be placed in substitution of their user-eng-db.cfg file in SpaceEngine /config folder. This could be undesirable for those that, for example, renamed procedural planets with names of their choice then proceeded to write their own wiki lore.
There's another little complication :)
Be advised that if your wiki database is for english, then those using a different localization will not read your wiki contents.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 90
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Help with creating Mods and Addons

19 Mar 2019 21:06

Ok then, Is It possible to make a texture for a galaxy in GIMP though? I do not have the money for photoshop.
 
luigi451518
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Mar 2019

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Mar 2019 01:39

Ok so can i use other than photoshop for my custom textures?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jean203 and 1 guest