Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 73
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 505
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Mar 2017 17:04

It works! Thank you! :D

Edit: Now that I have a blank model in SE, how do I add textures? I couldnt search for help on textures because the forum complained "textures" was "too common". :/
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
Destructor1701
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 84
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

23 Mar 2017 15:03

Did you texture map it in Blender?

Guys, is it possible yet to script a ship in such a way that it spawns with other ships already docked to it?

Like the stock explorer ship with a full ring of Skylones, for example?
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 505
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

23 Mar 2017 15:10

I didn't, since I didn't realize it was required, and I don't know how to either.
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
Destructor1701
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 84
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

23 Mar 2017 20:37

You need to do the mapping in the modelling program. If not, Space Engine won't know where to place the textures you assign to it. I suggest looking up some Blender Texture Mapping tutorials.

Once it's mapped with your desired textures, and you export to OBJ with an included MTL file, Space Engine will auto-generate an SML file when it imports the ship. Usually, you'll need to manually tweak that file to achieve your desired look (with specular, emissive, and bump/normal textures for example).

Your modelling looks excellent, btw!
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 505
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

23 Mar 2017 20:48

Thank you! I'll definitely look up some tutorials as well. :)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Roswell
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

24 Mar 2017 13:07

I'm sorry I need your help can you tell me how to "remove" some planet because my trappist-1 look like funny with 2 b, 2 c, and 2 d.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1830
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

25 Mar 2017 03:20

Roswell,
You can put this at the beginning of your planet script:
Remove  "TRAPPIST-1 b" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove  "TRAPPIST-1 c" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
Remove  "TRAPPIST-1 d" {ParentBody "TRAPPIST-1"}
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Insanity
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 25 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

25 Mar 2017 08:51

For whatever reason, my star won't show up in the search, any tips? (Also, if you want to look at the file, I attached it.)
Attachments
Silencia.sc
(591 Bytes) Downloaded 120 times
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 595
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Gale Crater
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

25 Mar 2017 09:21

I had this problem too. Try making a barycenter first and then adding the star to that barycenter. Here, use this fixed version as a model for your future stars. It should work now:
Silencia.sc
(859 Bytes) Downloaded 145 times


(I also changed the quotation marks to the normal ones)
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
Insanity
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 26
Joined: 25 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

25 Mar 2017 09:42

Thanks.
 
Destructor1701
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 84
Joined: 07 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

25 Mar 2017 19:18

Does anyone know how to script the ship file so that a spacecraft spawns with other ships pre-docked to it?

I'd like to use it for stuff like Enterprise-D Saucer Separation, Falcon 9/any-rocket staging, or even just setting up scenes.
 
QCzar
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

26 Mar 2017 13:38

I have a question regarding placing objects on surfaces without them floating off into infinity.  Most of my own experiments with this using the autopilot controls, ship editor and spacecraft.cfg have merely resulted in a growing collection of objects floating near the parent bodies (or out at the edge of the universe, with hilarious side effects).  Searches here and on the web have turned up nothing (it's possible I got the terminology wrong).

Examples of things I've already tried:

  • Playing with the various orbit types in the spaceship controls in-game - (No Beans!)
  • Messing around with the ship editor - (No Dice!)
  • Tinkering with the Orientation and Velocities in the spacecraft config - (Nope!)
  • Taking shots in the dark with the Orbit in the config - (Ooh, look, an orbital rover!)
To the experienced modders here, most of those were probably laughably pointless, but I wanted to experiment on my own before dragging you folks into it.

I'm at a loss and am also a rank amateur.  Is it possible to bind a spacecraft to a planetary body (or even a star) in such a way as it does not change its location and/or orientation to the parent object or drift in any way? I would greatly appreciate any answers on this subject (definitive or conjectural), even if the answer is it simply cannot currently be done.  I'm also perfectly willing to look like an idiot if the answer is an obvious one.

Thank you.
 
User avatar
Roswell
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 134
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

27 Mar 2017 12:45

I tried to create the new planets called Iceqias but the orbite destroy my creation. I HATE IT. I want to remove all that ridiculous bug
Attachments
scr00000.jpg
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 407
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

27 Mar 2017 14:26

Roswell wrote:
I tried to create the new planets called Iceqias but the orbite destroy my creation. I HATE IT. I want to remove all that ridiculous bug

I find the problem, Eccentricity is superior or equal than 1 so decrease the value.

If the problem is the Class for the planet, decrease the value of Mass inferior I think of ~15 Earth's mass (I no in my computer for checked) or/and decrease the value of Radius inferior I think of ~20000 km.
► Information
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 1957
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Help with creating Mods and Addons

27 Mar 2017 15:52

Roswell wrote:
Source of the post I tried to create the new planets called Iceqias but the orbite destroy my creation. I HATE IT. I want to remove all that ridiculous bug

There is no bug -- the orbits are doing exactly what you are telling them to do.  Eccentricity is how elliptical the orbit is.  An eccentricity of 0 is a circle, between 0 and 1 is an ellipse, 1 is a parabola (the object is going exactly fast enough to escape from the star), and greater than 1 is a hyperbola, which looks more and more like a straight line as the number gets higher.
Set eccentricity to something between 0 and 0.2 for a more typical planetary orbit.
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 73

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest