Page 40 of 74

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 10 May 2018 12:38
by HeitorBarbosa47842
Sorry. I made a mistake in writing it actually meant that it even appears in the search bar but when I try to go to it it does not work at all;

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 10 May 2018 16:40
by AlexanderCadere
[quote="DoctorOfSpace"][ref]AlexanderCadere[/ref], Maya and 3ds Max are the ones that seem to give the best results.[/quote]

Yeez! I just saw the price tag on these. Thanks for the quick reply!

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 13 May 2018 08:01
by HeitorBarbosa47842
Hi, I'm trying to make a blue gaseous planet in orbit from Jorgea (Star I created to make a mod) with the rings of Saturn. when I search it appears, but when I click on "Go To" it shows a message saying "Object not found". Can someone help me.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 13 May 2018 09:17
by Mosfet
Since you're a newly registered user and you can't attach files here yet, please use http://pastebin.com to let us see your scripts.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 13 May 2018 16:04
by Gnargenox
I'm having a little trouble understanding the proper use of tags and the settings for using CubeMap & IrfanView 64 to create custom textures. The instructions on the Forum are helpful, but a bit confusing or lacking certain clues.

I've never had much trouble creating 8bit RGB PNGs and converting them to RAW files and then creating the 6 folders and base texture. But I have yet to make a proper 16-bit greyscale bump map. (or a proper RGBA PNG, oh well, that can happen later on).

Usually, I will create a Photoshop PNG or PSD image 16384x8192, RGB 8-bit and save it. Since Photoshop can't work with images that large (anything over 30,000 pixels wide), or save in the RAW file format, I convert the PNG or PSD to Greyscale in IrfanView 64 and increase the number of colors to 16 million. Then I'll resize it up to 32768x16384. I will then save it as a RAW file, around 1.5GB in size. They usually work fine for the detail I want when doing clouds or surface textures. Even with than many colors I think it is still an 8-bit file. Also, I don't know why, but Irfanview 64 calls images with than many colors a 24-bit image file.

I have tried converting a few of them to 16-bit Greyscale RAWs with Irfanview but after running CubeMap they were terribly distorted and completely unusable, even though I was able to load and save them as 16-bit greyscale after running CubeMap. I'm pretty sure I was saving the RAWs as Planar (RRR, GGG, BBB).

I have created colored (not modulated) cloud layers in the past by setting InputChannels to 3, but with all these Bump Maps, I've kept it on the setting for Greyscales; 1, even if I didn't specifically convert it to greyscale in Irfanview. It looks greyscale but it is still RGB. Those worked fairly well too. They were all 8-bit files.

What should the settings be in CubeMap for the following tags in order to create a working 16-bit Bump Map?

# Input RAW file format
InputWidth      32768    
InputHeight     16384    
InputChannels   1
Input16bit      true       # capacity: 16 or 8 bits per channel        //true = 16-bit so, yeah
InputByteSwap   false        # for 16-bit: little endian                //true is for MAC computers?
InputUnsigned     true        # for 16-bit: unsigned or signed values    //I don't have a clue

# Output files format
OutFormat       png         //I like PNGs
OutFormat2      png         //I like PNGs
TileWidth       256         //Pretty sure this is right
TileBorder      1           //Pretty sure this is right
Out16bit        false      //Would be set as true if I could get it to work right
OutByteSwap     false       //Pretty sure this stays false
OutUnsigned     true       //I don't have a clue
OutInvertAlpha  true        //I don't have a clue
OutJPEGquality  100         //I think I know what this means lol
SeparateRGBA    false       //Once I figure out Bump Maps I will use this to make Alpha images
SeparateHiLo    false       //I wouldn't mind if they are separate files...
DoublePrecision false      //I don't have a clue

# Normalization of the elevation map
Normalize       true            //I think this is correct...
EnterNormData   false           //I think this is correct...
NormMinValue    -32768        //Is this right at all?
NormMaxValue    32768            //Is this right at all?

# The basic cylindrical texture
BaseTexFormat   png             //I like PNGs for base textures
BaseTexDownSize 64              //32768/512=64

# Parameters for optimization of homogeneous tiles
MinVar          20.0            //Is this supposed to be what the Bump Map height is set on in the scripts?

# Memory settings
MaxMem          1024        //I don't have a clue
MethodSide      Line        //I don't have a clue
MethodPolar     Line        //I don't have a clue

# Faces to process        //I don't have a clue
Create_NEG_X    1    
Create_POS_X    1
Create_NEG_Y    1
Create_POS_Y    1
Create_NEG_Z    1
Create_POS_Z    1

# Stages                //I don't have a clue
CreateBaseTex   1       
ComputeFaces    1       
DownsizeFaces   1      
UpdateEdges     1       
TileFaces       1       
OptimizeTiles   0       

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 14 May 2018 06:30
by GeoPlayer123YT
i have no idea what that is but maybe ill learn at some point...

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 14 May 2018 09:59
by HeitorBarbosa47842
The Planet Script :
[code]Planet     "Jorgea D"
{
       ParentBody       "Jorgea"
       Class            "GasGiant"

       DiscMethod       "Transit"
       DiscDate          "2010.06.15"

       Mass              4
       Radius            2741

       Age               1

       RotationPeriod    24
       RotationEpoch     8
       Obliquity         1
       EqAscendNode      9
       PoleRA            1
       PoleDec           1
       RotationOffset    0
 
       AlbedoBond        -270
       AlbedoGeom        2
       Albedo            9

       NoLife          true

       Atmosphere
       {
            Model    "Earth"
            Height    100
            Pressure  1
            Density   8
            MolarMass 9
            Adiabat   0
            Greenhouse   10
            Bright    10
            Opacity   21
            SkyLight  3.3333
            Hue       0
            Saturation     1
            Composition
            {
                N2 44
                O2 15
                Ar 0.9303
                H2O 0.400
                CO2 0.0398
             }
             
             Rings
             {
                     InnerRadius      1250
                     OuterRadius      2250
                     FrontBright      9
                     BackBright       -9
                     Density          1
              }
  
              Orbit
              {
                    Epoch            974
                    Period           8
                    MeanMotion       4
                    SemiMajorAxis    6
                    Eccentricity     0.24
                    Inclination      7
                    AscendingNode    0
                    ArgOfPericenter  0
                    MeanAnomaly      200.119
                    RefPlane         "Ecliptic"
              }
       }[/code]

If something is missing I'm sorry. I'm not used to making gas giants so I do not know how the difference should be.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 14 May 2018 12:29
by JackDole
HeitorBarbosa47842 wrote:
Source of the post The Planet Script :

It lacks a closing parenthesis in your script.
Also, I've added a few notes to the script, you may want to change the appropriate parameters.
Planet     "Jorgea D"
{
    ParentBody       "Jorgea"
    Class            "GasGiant"

    DiscMethod       "Transit"
    DiscDate          "2010.06.15"

    Mass              4
    Radius            2741          // very small for a gas giant !!!

    Age               1

    RotationPeriod    24
    RotationEpoch     8
    Obliquity         1
    EqAscendNode      9
    PoleRA            1
    PoleDec           1
    RotationOffset    0
 
    AlbedoBond        -270          // ???? (must be between 0 and 1)
    AlbedoGeom        2
    Albedo            9

    NoLife          true

    Atmosphere
    {
        Model    "Earth"
        Height    100
        Pressure  1
        Density   8
        MolarMass 9
        Adiabat   0
        Greenhouse   10
        Bright    10
        Opacity   21
        SkyLight  3.3333
        Hue       0
        Saturation     1
        
        Composition
        {
            N2 44
            O2 15
            Ar 0.9303
            H2O 0.400
            CO2 0.0398
        }
    }                               // is missing !!!
    
    Rings
    {
        InnerRadius      1250       // to small, must be larger as the planet radius !!!
        OuterRadius      2250       // must be many larger as planet radius !!!
        FrontBright      9
        BackBright       -9
        Density          1
    }
    
    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            974
        Period           8
        MeanMotion       4
        SemiMajorAxis    6
        Eccentricity     0.24
        Inclination      7
        AscendingNode    0
        ArgOfPericenter  0
        MeanAnomaly      200.119
        RefPlane         "Ecliptic"
    }
}

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 14 May 2018 12:35
by Mosfet
HeitorBarbosa47842,
Atmosphere tag is missing a closing bracket. It's always a good idea to count opening/closing brackets.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 14 May 2018 17:33
by HeitorBarbosa47842
Thank you, sorry to bother you, I am accustomed to making stars, galaxies, nebulae, clusters and rocky and dwarf planets.

But I am not used to create gas giants

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 15 May 2018 11:02
by Macronicus
Created a system called Zuay and I wanted to export the procedural planets but the exporter doesn't do it right with the names by making it from "Zuay 1" to simply "1"

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 15 May 2018 11:57
by Mosfet
That's normal, you have to change names manually.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 15 May 2018 12:50
by Macronicus
Mosfet wrote:
That's normal, you have to change names manually.


Pretty all the objects that includes asteroid comets and many moons. Is there a faster way?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 15 May 2018 15:09
by Mosfet
Macronicus wrote:
Source of the post Is there a faster way?

Usually the simplest method in a case like this is using the "search & replace" feature commonly available in every text editor.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 15 May 2018 16:36
by Macronicus
Mosfet wrote:
Macronicus wrote:
Source of the post Is there a faster way?

Usually the simplest method in a case like this is using the "search & replace" feature commonly available in every text editor.


I'll try.....