Page 4 of 73

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 07 Mar 2017 08:11
by Mosfet
darth_biomech wrote:
Source of the post I didn't even knew that irfanview even COULD resave to RAW

I'm not sure if it can natively, but I always install the plugins pack whenever I see an update, so maybe you need that as well, it's really a matter of seconds.
Hope it helps.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 07 Mar 2017 23:28
by darth_biomech
It (and Pluton's cubemap instruction) helped, thanks!
Image

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 16 Mar 2017 17:56
by PlutonianEmpire
I've noticed while flying in aviation mode with the horizon HUD on, that there is a "flaps" underneath "Ailerons" to the right of the screen. How do I enable flaps for my spacecraft?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 16 Mar 2017 18:04
by Hornblower
PlutonianEmpire, looks like you would need to bind keys to that. Find it under "Ship Controls." Never even noticed that before  ;)

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 16 Mar 2017 18:11
by PlutonianEmpire
I have, I bound keyboard keys and joystick buttons to it, and none of them worked, so that gave me the impression I might need to set or add a parameter in a spacecraft .cfg or .sss file somewhere.

EDIT: And now I have a new problem. I created a simple 3ds model for Celestia a few years ago, and I converted it to obj for use in SE. I've done absolutely every single thing and the thing still refuses to show up in SE, and I'm seriously getting ready to rip my hair out, climb to the roof of the Burj Khalifa, and throw this computer off the ledge in pure, blood broiling, O-class stellar teff rage. Can some one help me with this please?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 07:24
by Mosfet
In console it says "degenerate vertices detected", it means SE doesn't like the .obj source. Tried to clean it with Meshlab, with no results.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 12:43
by PlutonianEmpire
You may have noticed already, but I did add the original 3ds file to the model zip; I used ModelconverterX 1.30 for my conversion to .obj. Does fixing the 3ds model with Meshlab also fail to improve things?

As for the degenerate vertices, did SE say why it thinks they are degenerate?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 13:55
by Mosfet
I don't see .3ds files. No, unfortunately SE is not open to discussions about the subject ;)

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 14:12
by PlutonianEmpire
I meant the game. ;)

You are right, I neglected to add the 3ds file. Here it is. :)

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 15:12
by Mosfet
Meshlab apparently can't import 3ds files. I did a conversion with Blender in .obj, but it seems even more inconsistent than the other. It seems like SE can't correctly translate it in triangles.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 15:39
by PlutonianEmpire
That's.... Odd; considering one of my other imports used a large amount of triangles and showed up fine in SE:

plutocon_mesh1.png


scr00888.png


Unless I'm missing something?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 16:45
by Mosfet
 I guess one or more triangles are treated as having 0 area so SE skip them all. In fact it's a really simple mesh. Personally I'd redo the model, maybe with more vertices? I always had this problem when the mesh was too simple.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 17 Mar 2017 17:03
by PlutonianEmpire
I was afraid of that. Thank you! :)

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 18 Mar 2017 13:50
by TheRedstoneHive
Does this look alright? Because I can't figure out why this is not working.


Planet   “Lingur”
{
    ParentBody     “Sol”
    Class          “Oceania”    Mass            95.162
    Radius          60268
    Oblateness      0.09796RotationPeriod  10.65622
    RotationOffset  358.922
    Obliquity       28.049
    EqAscendNode    169.53Color         ( 1.000 1.000 0.850 )
    Albedo          0.342
    AlbedoBond      0.342
    AlbedoGeom      0.47
    Brightness      1.8Surface
    {
        // Surface map author: Bjorn Jonsson
        DiffMap        “Saturn/Surface-BJ”
        DiffTileSize    256
        DiffTileBorder  0
        DayAmbient      0
        NoClouds     false
    }
    Atmosphere
    {

        Height   250  // km
        Model   “Neptune”
        Bright   5.0
        Opacity  0.2
        SkyLight 0.002
        Composition // values in percent
        {

            H2   96.3
            He   3.25
            CH4  0.45
            NH3  0.0125
            C2H6 0.0007
        }
    }

    Aurora
    {

         Height       1000   // km
         TopColor    (1.5 0.0 0.8)
         BottomColor (1.0 0.1 0.0)
         NorthLat     90    // degrees
         NorthLon     0     // degrees
         NorthRadius  15000 // km
         NorthWidth   5000  // km
         NorthRings   3     // number of rings
         NorthBright  1.0
         SouthLat    -90    // degrees
         SouthLon     0     // degrees
         SouthRadius  16000 // km
         SouthWidth   5000  // km
         SouthRings   3     // number of rings
         SouthBright  1.0
    }

    Rings
    {

         // Rings texture author: Vladimir Romanyuk “SpaceEngineer”
         Texture        “Saturn-rings.*”
         InnerRadius     60284
         OuterRadius     356993
         FrontBright     1.0
         BackBright      5.0
         Brightness      1.5
    }

    Orbit
    {

         RefPlane       “Ecliptic”
         Period          29.4577
         SemiMajorAxis   15.95
         Eccentricity    0.0
         Inclination     0.0
         AscendingNode   113.715
         LongOfPericen   92.432
         MeanLongitude   49.944
    }
}

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 18 Mar 2017 14:11
by Mosfet
Replace all quotation marks with simple ones, ex.:
Planet   “Lingur”

with:
Planet   "Lingur"


then a couple of missing new lines:

Class          “Oceania”    Mass            95.162

should be:
Class          "Oceania"
Mass            95.162

and:

EqAscendNode    169.53Color         ( 1.000 1.000 0.850 )

becomes:
EqAscendNode    169.53
Color         ( 1.000 1.000 0.850 )


scr00002.jpg


Console window (Ctrl + ~) usually has some clues about where the issues are, as well as the se.log file.