Page 25 of 25

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 07 Oct 2017 02:51
by Ensabahnur
Thanks a lot, they work now.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 26 Oct 2017 10:41
by zhar22
How do I make a space station that loads on a given orbit permanently? I want to model it and have it load above a planet.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 26 Oct 2017 14:19
by Sahviiksil
Hi, I was just wondering if someone could help me on an issue I've been having creating a new star. I've found a really cool galaxy in the universe somewhere, and I want to add a new star to that galaxy. The problem is, any new star I create just gets thrown in the Milky Way. I know about RA and Dec, but whatever dist I put in it always seems to be relative to the sun (Sol). How do I literally pin-point the co-ordinates of the galaxy I want to put the star in?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 26 Oct 2017 14:28
by JackDole
Sahviiksil wrote:
Source of the post Hi, I was just wondering if someone could help me on an issue I've been having creating a new star.

Post your script here.
And what is the name of the galaxy?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 26 Oct 2017 15:00
by HarbingerDawn
zhar22 wrote:
Source of the post How do I make a space station that loads on a given orbit permanently? I want to model it and have it load above a planet.

This is not possible in the current version, but will be in the next version.

Sahviiksil wrote:
Source of the post Hi, I was just wondering if someone could help me on an issue I've been having creating a new star. I've found a really cool galaxy in the universe somewhere, and I want to add a new star to that galaxy. The problem is, any new star I create just gets thrown in the Milky Way. I know about RA and Dec, but whatever dist I put in it always seems to be relative to the sun (Sol). How do I literally pin-point the co-ordinates of the galaxy I want to put the star in?

SE has problems rendering stars placed very far from Sol (like in other galaxies). It used to easily figure out the correct coordinates anyway, but for some reason that capability no longer exists in SE.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 26 Oct 2017 16:35
by Sahviiksil
Strange... I ended up creating my own galaxy, but I need to know the Dist from sol. It never seems to give me the correct distance, only in Kly or Mly. I need it in PC so I can correctly position my star. By the way, the galaxy I wanted to place the star in originally was RG 0-7-468169-802 and my script is astar I selected in that galaxy (renamed it) and set the orbital parent to the galaxy name.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 26 Oct 2017 17:33
by XBrain130
Sahviiksil wrote:
Source of the post set the orbital parent to the galaxy name

you musn't do that. "Orbital parent" is only for multiple stars around their common barycenter, and planetary objects around stars, and moons around planetary objects.
Also keep in mind that stars can't be placed farther than the Magellanic Clouds, else they will be bugged.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 27 Oct 2017 06:14
by JackDole
Sahviiksil wrote:
Source of the post the galaxy I wanted to place the star in originally was RG 0-7-468169-802

The galaxy is far too far away to position a star there. In a closer galaxy, like Andromeda, this may work. But also there are problems. As XBrain130 says.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 13 Nov 2017 12:10
by Hornblower
I'm working on a mod for the Moon's textures, however, it seems like cubemap layers 10+ don't load. Is there some limitation on how many cubemap layers the Moon can handle?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 13 Nov 2017 20:06
by Hornblower
Does anyone know a work-around?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 14 Nov 2017 11:19
by Hornblower
Will anyone help me?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 15 Nov 2017 01:07
by JackDole
Hornblower, maybe nobody knows a solution.

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 19 Nov 2017 06:21
by longname
Hello, I was developing my Rodina addon and replacing placeholder planets, but this happened (What... How does this even happen?)
► Show Spoiler

Also, what does -1.#J mean?

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 19 Nov 2017 08:07
by JackDole
longname wrote:
Source of the post Hello, I was developing my Rodina addon and replacing placeholder planets, but this happened (What... How does this even happen?)

Remove the line 'Precession 0' from the script for the planet Veles.
This line in SE 0.980 produces something like a 'Division by zero' error.

In addition, you have commented unused planets incorrectly. If you want to comment out a planet, you must include the whole block between '/*' and '*/'. Like this:
/*
Planet    "Jarilo placeholder"
{
    ParentBody     "Zorica"
    Class           "Selena"

    ...
    ...
    ...

    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane        "Equator"
        SemiMajorAxis   0.0459
        Period          8.44455
        Eccentricity    0.0262781
        Inclination     -119.73
        AscendingNode   48.1127
        ArgOfPericenter 90.3064
        MeanAnomaly     195.126
    }
}
*/


(And a radius of 1.1 Sol is far too big for a White Dwarf.)

Help with creating Mods and Addons

Posted: 21 Nov 2017 10:01
by longname
JackDole wrote:
Source of the post (And a radius of 1.1 Sol is far too big for a White Dwarf.)

Rodina isn't a realistic game :)
Also, It fixed the mod.