Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
xingqiu1
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 159
Joined: 30 Jun 2018 10:47
Location: Earth2.0

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Sep 2018 08:31

I added a custom texture to the planet, and I had a problem, and it turned out to be like this. Why?
Maybe it's the size of your texture. It's 2500 x 1250, but it should be 2048 x 1024. (Or 4096 x 2048 ...). The texture dimension should be a multiple of 256.
That's the case. Thank you
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 724
Joined: 11 Dec 2016 20:19
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Sep 2018 14:39

Hahahaha - Don't worry though, I'll get it right some time this weekend, and post my first share. But... it has to be perfect! Grrrr
It was pretty cool the first time I ever created nearly a trillion star systems! Wow!
scr03233.jpg
scr03233.jpg (29.83 KiB) Viewed 4600 times
I think my alpha channel is clean, it must be on R, G, or B. Probably not a problem with the *_sys pic, I don't think.
It wouldn't show at all when I used :

    Lum     2.3e+12    // the light of 2.3 trillion sols (yeah, it is supposed to be that bright)

or when I had

    Dist     2753847130.84155035 pc    // The light travel time is 8.988 Gyr. or 8981848049.28134 ly  or  2,753,847,130.84155035 pc (Red Shift z = 2.3)

but it finally showed up with using only

    AbsMag    -26.09        // but it wasn't as bright any more like in the pic below

Maybe I should add
    
    ModelBright    ???    // Default value is 1

And Whurs ma dust? I want lotsa dark dusty swirly things :(

Plus it looks like I'll need to create a second model entry if I want the bulge where it should be and have another bulge for the merging smaller galaxy

Oh, and what is "useFBO" used for?
Any reason to use any of the "emNoise" tags?
And once I noticed I got a system Octree error, but don't see it any more.

BTW I love that planet texture xingqiu1!

PS: Making a 3D model of the merger, just to get orientation and scale down as best as I can.
Attachments
scr03234.jpg
scr03236.jpg
scr03237.jpg
3D model of galactic buldge 1.jpg
3D model of galactic buldge 2.jpg
3D model of galactic buldge 3.jpg
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
xingqiu1
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 159
Joined: 30 Jun 2018 10:47
Location: Earth2.0

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2018 02:36

Hahahaha - Don't worry though, I'll get it right some time this weekend, and post my first share. But... it has to be perfect! Grrrr
It was pretty cool the first time I ever created nearly a trillion star systems! Wow! scr03233.jpg
I think my alpha channel is clean, it must be on R, G, or B. Probably not a problem with the *_sys pic, I don't think.
It wouldn't show at all when I used :

    Lum     2.3e+12    // the light of 2.3 trillion sols (yeah, it is supposed to be that bright)

or when I had

    Dist     2753847130.84155035 pc    // The light travel time is 8.988 Gyr. or 8981848049.28134 ly  or  2,753,847,130.84155035 pc (Red Shift z = 2.3)

but it finally showed up with using only

    AbsMag    -26.09        // but it wasn't as bright any more like in the pic below

Maybe I should add
    
    ModelBright    ???    // Default value is 1

And Whurs ma dust? I want lotsa dark dusty swirly things :(

Plus it looks like I'll need to create a second model entry if I want the bulge where it should be and have another bulge for the merging smaller galaxy

Oh, and what is "useFBO" used for?
Any reason to use any of the "emNoise" tags?
And once I noticed I got a system Octree error, but don't see it any more.

BTW I love that planet texture xingqiu1!

PS: Making a 3D model of the merger, just to get orientation and scale down as best as I can.
OK, do you know how to create a cube planet?
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 724
Joined: 11 Dec 2016 20:19
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2018 09:23

how to create a cube planet
That's easy. Use a cubed Cube-map for the Bump-map. Each side of a cube has edges higher than the center when placed around a sphere. A radial gradation of greys from low (dark) to high (white) will fill one square side of a cube, making it a square shape when used as a Bump-map to determine the heights around a sphere.

This is both a Cube-map (Horizontal Cross) and an Equirectangular version of the Bump-map that you can use the program Cube Map to convert to tiles for use in your own Space Engine. You'll need to look up the instructions and download link to Cube Map (also on instructions page) somewhere else on this forum. Try searching for Instructions for Custom Textures to learn how to import these.

You can convert the Horizontal Cross, after you edit it, to an Equirectangular version for importing into SE with Cube Map, online, at 360 Toolkit

I include both textures in case you want to modify each of the flat sides a bit. Sometimes there is a little rounding off on the 8 corners of the cube, and a bit on the center of each face making it look like someone's navel. You can make other "kinda cubic" shapes with it. I might have left this version, that is posted, of the Bump-map looking something like the moon in the photo attached so you might do a new version for yourself. This will just give you an idea of how it is done.
Attachments
Cube Cubemap.png
equirectangular.png
scr03238.jpg
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Quarior
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 411
Joined: 11 Oct 2016 09:07
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

10 Sep 2018 13:31

xingqiu1, look here but I don’t made the base.* texture so use the tool up say by Gnargenox.
► Information
 
User avatar
xingqiu1
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 159
Joined: 30 Jun 2018 10:47
Location: Earth2.0

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Sep 2018 05:37

how to create a cube planet
That's easy. Use a cubed Cube-map for the Bump-map. Each side of a cube has edges higher than the center when placed around a sphere. A radial gradation of greys from low (dark) to high (white) will fill one square side of a cube, making it a square shape when used as a Bump-map to determine the heights around a sphere.

This is both a Cube-map (Horizontal Cross) and an Equirectangular version of the Bump-map that you can use the program Cube Map to convert to tiles for use in your own Space Engine. You'll need to look up the instructions and download link to Cube Map (also on instructions page) somewhere else on this forum. Try searching for Instructions for Custom Textures to learn how to import these.

You can convert the Horizontal Cross, after you edit it, to an Equirectangular version for importing into SE with Cube Map, online, at 360 Toolkit

I include both textures in case you want to modify each of the flat sides a bit. Sometimes there is a little rounding off on the 8 corners of the cube, and a bit on the center of each face making it look like someone's navel. You can make other "kinda cubic" shapes with it. I might have left this version, that is posted, of the Bump-map looking something like the moon in the photo attached so you might do a new version for yourself. This will just give you an idea of how it is done.
thank
 
User avatar
xingqiu1
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 159
Joined: 30 Jun 2018 10:47
Location: Earth2.0

Help with creating Mods and Addons

11 Sep 2018 05:39

xingqiu1, look here but I don’t made the base.* texture so use the tool up say by Gnargenox.
thank.
 
zanebug94
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Jul 2018 19:18

Help with creating Mods and Addons

25 Sep 2018 09:48

hey New to the forums, I've actually been using space engine for awhile, I've seen quite a few people editing land a cloud shaders and even atmosphere colors how do you go about doing this? I've attempted to open the shader files in Notepad++ and I dont even began to know how to do atmospheres
 
ejmc01
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Mar 2018 10:29

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Oct 2018 09:57

im trying to make a binary system with the sun and a k type star in it, but the barycenter keeps turning into a blue hypergiant, the sun does not orbit and the new k type star never appears and i have everything in the right folders

here's the code for the stars:

Remove “Sun”
Remove “Sun B”
Star “Sun”
{

ParentBody “solar” // = name of StarBarycenter in the stars catalog
Class “G2V”
Luminosity 1.00
MassSol 1.00
RadiusSol 1.00
// rotational parameters
Obliquity 47.8823
EqAscendNode 80.6507
RotationPeriod 609.12

// orbit around the barycenter
Orbit
{

// mutual semimajor axis is 23.52 AU,
// but mass ratio 1.09:0.92 is taken into account!
SemiMajorAxis 3937 // in AU
Period 188050 // in years
Eccentricity 0.813
Inclination 8.84
AscendingNode 24
ArgOfPericenter 89.8
MeanAnomaly -180
}

}

// Creates a new object – second component of a binary star system
Star “Sun B”
{

ParentBody “solar” // = name of StarBarycenter in the stars catalog
Class “K5V”
Luminosity 0.190
MassSol 0.725
RadSol 0.629
// rotational parameters
Obliquity 16.9
EqAscendNode 67.726
RotationPeriod 234.6
RotationOffset 127.4

// orbit around the barycenter
Orbit
{

// mutual semimajor axis is 23.52 AU,
// but mass ratio 1.09:0.92 is taken into account!
SemiMajorAxis 3937 // in AU
Period 188051 // in years
Eccentricity 0.813
Inclination 8.84
AscendingNode 24
ArgOfPericenter 270
MeanAnomaly -180
}

}

and here's the code for the barycenter:

StarBarycenter “solar”
{

RA 19 50 18 // right ascension
Dec 28 18 47 // declination
Dist 0 // distance from the Sun

}
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1874
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:18
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Oct 2018 22:59

im trying to make a binary system with the sun and a k type star in it, but the barycenter keeps turning into a blue hypergiant, the sun does not orbit and the new k type star never appears and i have everything in the right folders
First, you have the wrong quotes. You have '' instead of' '"'.

Second, if you want to remove a star from the Star / StarBarycenter script, the command is.
RemoveStar "Name of System/Star"
Like this:
// ejmc01

RemoveStar  "Solar System"

StarBarycenter "solar"
{
    RA      0
    Dec     0
    Dist    0
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(This script belongs in 'addons\catalogs\stars'.)
(If you have Dist = 0, you can also set RA and Dec equal to 0)

Third, if you want to remove an object in the planet script, you have to specify ParentBody. So:
Remove "Sun/Sol" {ParentBody "Solar System"}
The script:
// ejmc01

Remove "Sun/Sol" {ParentBody "Solar System"}

Star "Sun/Sol"
{
    ParentBody  "solar"
    Class       "G2V"
    
    Luminosity  1.00
    MassSol     1.00
    RadiusSol   1.00
    
    Obliquity 47.8823
    EqAscendNode 80.6507
    RotationPeriod 609.12

    Orbit
    {
        SemiMajorAxis   3309.36231884
        Period          531983.9943239
        Eccentricity    0.813
        Inclination     8.84
        AscendingNode   24
        ArgOfPericenter 89.8
        MeanAnomaly     -180
    }
}

Star "Sun B"
{
    ParentBody  "solar"
    Class       "K5V"
    
    Luminosity  0.190
    MassSol     0.725
    RadSol      0.629
    
    Obliquity       16.9
    EqAscendNode    67.726
    RotationPeriod  234.6
    RotationOffset  127.4
    
    Orbit
    {
        SemiMajorAxis   4564.63768116
        Period          531983.9943239
        Eccentricity    0.813
        Inclination     8.84
        AscendingNode   24
        ArgOfPericenter 269.8
        MeanAnomaly     180
    }
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Put this in 'addons\catalogs\planets'.)

I recalculated the SemiMajorAxis and Period according to the star masses.

(Period, Eccentricity, Inclination, AscendingNode and MeanAnomaly must be the same. ArgOfPericenter must differ by 180 degrees.)
scr00011.jpg
scr00012.jpg
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
ejmc01
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Mar 2018 10:29

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Oct 2018 05:43

JackDole, thank you so much my surface pro puts quotes in weirdly and I did not think it would change anything

also I originally created the system in universe sandbox 2 and wanted to code it into space engine, I copied the data from universe sandbox 2 and put it in the code
 
ejmc01
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Mar 2018 10:29

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Oct 2018 05:49

now its time for the tedious part of coding all the planets and moons around Sun B
 
ejmc01
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Mar 2018 10:29

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Oct 2018 06:32

is the obliquity relative to its orbital plane or the universe?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1874
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:18
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Oct 2018 08:08

is the obliquity relative to its orbital plane or the universe?
'Obliquity' is relative to the orbital plane around the parent object. 'Obliquity 0' means the axis of rotation of the planet is vertical to the orbital plane. 'Obliquity 90' means the planet lies horizontally to the orbital plane. Something like Uranus.
But that also depends on the inclination of the orbital plane.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
tRetro-Visor
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 236
Joined: 03 Nov 2016 08:27
Location: Chile
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

06 Oct 2018 12:43

I don't know in which thread should I post this, but ok

As far as I know, moons and dwarf moons are meant to create gaps in the rings. However, these don't and I'm not sure why.
It had the gaps the first time I added them and upon restart, when I adjusted the orbits a bit more, they were no longer there.
Image
The last moon is also supposed to "soften" the edge of the ring

Here is the script file. I set it around the sun just for testing
Nuada.sc
(18.25 KiB) Downloaded 267 times
"Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests