Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
tRetro-Visor
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 104
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Chile
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jan 2018 08:30

aFinapple wrote:
Can someone check over my .sc parameters for my system for orbital errors? The orbital periods of the inner planets are longer than the farther out planets. 

I highly recomed removing the "SemiMayorAxis" parameter and leaving only the period parameter. make it "PeriodDays" so you can be more precise. Space Engine will create the semimayoraxis based on the orbital period you type in
 
User avatar
aFinapple
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 40
Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Location: Europa

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jan 2018 08:54

tRetro-Visor wrote:
Source of the post I highly recomed removing the "SemiMayorAxis" parameter and leaving only the period parameter. make it "PeriodDays" so you can be more precise. Space Engine will create the semimayoraxis based on the orbital period you type in

Yep, that did it! Thanks!
"You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you're not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we've found that makes the emptiness bearable, is each other.”- Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
aFinapple
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 40
Joined: 29 Oct 2017
Location: Europa

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jan 2018 18:01

So I have a text file saved as the user-eng-db.cfg for the description of my planets in my add on, but the descriptions are not showing up in game
Attachments
user-eng-db.cfg
(1.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you're not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we've found that makes the emptiness bearable, is each other.”- Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jan 2018 20:01

I am trying to work on a couple ships. I sound some really good 3d models and resources but I am pretty new to this.. Is it possible to import real models into the SE ship editor, or do I need a separate program? And if so where do I go from there? Its a lot to figure out. Could someone please answer my initial questions and give me a good set of steps to follow and get started, and whatever outside programs may be necessary if I cant import into the SE editor.. Thanks.
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 273
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jan 2018 23:07

tornadotodd wrote:
I am trying to work on a couple ships. I sound some really good 3d models and resources but I am pretty new to this.. Is it possible to import real models into the SE ship editor, or do I need a separate program? And if so where do I go from there? Its a lot to figure out. Could someone please answer my initial questions and give me a good set of steps to follow and get started, and whatever outside programs may be necessary if I cant import into the SE editor.. Thanks.

http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-ad ... ng-a-ship/
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jan 2018 23:43

yes I have read that.. I can get se editor ships to show up.. I cant seem to import a ship from outside the editor, like say a nasa ship into the editor.. Believe me I have read that link and it was helpful with the editor ships themselves.. when I try to import a ship to the editor I get a JSON error or something like that. Anyway.. And I see a lot of mods that are certainly not made in the editor. Look I'm just trying to get my legs under me here and get a good understanding of what I am doing and helpful outside programs as well. Also if learning some code may help I am interested too. I just seem to have trouble getting any answers.
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 138
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Jan 2018 08:39

I think there may be some confusion here with the "online" ship editor that allows you to build ships from scratch with included modules, and the built-in shif-F2 editor in S.E. itself.
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Jan 2018 09:44

tornadotodd wrote:
yes I have read that.. I can get se editor ships to show up.. I cant seem to import a ship from outside the editor, like say a nasa ship into the editor.. Believe me I have read that link and it was helpful with the editor ships themselves.. when I try to import a ship to the editor I get a JSON error or something like that. Anyway.. And I see a lot of mods that are certainly not made in the editor. Look I'm just trying to get my legs under me here and get a good understanding of what I am doing and helpful outside programs as well. Also if learning some code may help I am interested too. I just seem to have trouble getting any answers.

No no confusion. Although I guess that you cant import ships into the online editor?? It has to be done into SE directly??
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 138
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Jan 2018 20:47

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post No no confusion.

Not necessarily from you, but perhaps from some trying to help? Or the confusion could be entirely on my end. Not at all out of the ordinary. :)
tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post Although I guess that you cant import ships into the online editor?? It has to be done into SE directly??

I didn't think so, but this post by Mosfet implies it may be possible in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=174&p=17630#p17619

And depending on the model in question, you may need something like Blender to convert to the proper format that SE can import.
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

08 Jan 2018 21:18

Ok so I don't really know how to ask this question.. I have been trying to figure out how to import Atlantis with Tank and boosters for like the last 12 hours. I have created my file paths correctly I believe. I found a 3ds model that I used blender to convert to obj file, and did the export to get the mtl as directed in the ship Importer info on SE. I created my .sss file first and copied the code as a template and modified it the best that I could but obviously I am doing something wrong. Would someone please help me figure this out, it is getting very frustrating. I finally got it to where the name shows up and it doesn't crash but no ship model shows up. I know its a pain working with noobs but I really want to learn how to do this. I wish that there was someone experienced that does imports a lot that would make a step by step youtube tutorial for dummies lol.. Once I get this down I would love to be a contributor to the mod community. I am even willing to spend a great deal on software, I just need to know what is best to use or combinations, and help getting my first mod to work.. 
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 817
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Jan 2018 03:24

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post I have followed to the best of my ability and I cant get a ship to show up

Welcome to the club.

When you import ships and nothing shows up, you should find some clues about the issue with two main tools: the console window (~ key) and the se.log file (in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder). There should be some warnings or error lines describing what's the problem.
You should be warned also that there are some 3d models around the net that seem awesome, yet they fail the SE import phase because of defects in the shape so they need to be modified with a 3d editor like Blender or 3d studio or whatever.
Then there's the materials struggle. You need to edit manually the material file resulting from a conversion (.sml) to make sure it's pointing correctly to the textures, or your model will not show up.

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post Is blender the best program to use? I noticed in the se thread what appeared to be a much easier export box

Where is that? As long as it has the equivalent exporting features as shown in the manual, it could work.

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post And at that point I am still not getting a sm file out of it

Then your .obj or .mtl files are missing or not in addons/models/spacecraft/   and addons/textures/spacecraft/ folders respectively.

Look, it's not that you're a noob as you put it, it's complicated indeed.
Personally I don't think a video guide it's feasible at this point. It's a process that's mostly never right the first time you import a model, depending by the original material you find, and very time consuming if well done. Even if someone would be so heroic to do that video, it's guaranteed most people would respond with "I followed the video but it doesn't work".

Try not to vent your frustration in lengthy posts with tons of issues at a time, you need to describe specifically where you're stuck, using the manual as reference.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Jan 2018 08:30

It would still be very helpful... So the mtl file I need to manually make itno a sml? And for some reason no matter what I do with the obj once in should result In SE making a file?? And is it possible to have just the mesh show up wo texture so atleast you can know if your on the right track?
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Jan 2018 08:36

Also how do you know if the model has defects? I went from hopeful to feeling incapable.. Trying not to give up. It is sort of hard to explain where I am stuck, bc I am not quite sure myself at this point. but thanks for the reply. 
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Jan 2018 09:52

Ok I am starting over today.. Now in theory if I just simply start by creating my sss file, copy the code in the manual and place my sss file in addons/models/spacecraft/discovery just using that as an example then shouldn't my ship name, faction, and class all show up even though I only created the sss so far?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 817
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Help with creating Mods and Addons

09 Jan 2018 10:01

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post mtl file I need to manually make itno a sml?

No, SpaceEngine does the conversion, you have to manually correct wrong texture path, usually. And adding bump maps, specular maps... if you have it or you make it.

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post And for some reason no matter what I do with the obj once in should result In SE making a file?

The reason it does make a file is because you prepared a .sss file with a <nameofyourobjfile>.cfg in it, as described in the manual - creating a ship, under "Importing the model from the *.obj format".

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post is it possible to have just the mesh show up wo texture so atleast you can know if your on the right track?

Never tried. If you don't provide a mtl material file, the cfg file will be without material list, it means you'll have to manually add what it needs, as per manual.

tornadotodd wrote:
Source of the post Also how do you know if the model has defects?

If SE doesn't create the mesh, and there are errors in console or in se.log, then you should open your original file in your 3d editor and check for usual issues, like degenerate vertices, flipped normals, duplicated points...

Edit:
On second thought, if there are no replies yet and yours is the last post, you may prefer to edit that post instead of creating another one
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Himself, Martin and 1 guest