Free planetarium

 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Posts: 309
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 May 2017 02:35

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post but a new problem is no changes are seen in game.

Honestly, I also cannot see any difference in your two posted pictures, except that they have been taken from different heights. (Surf altitude / Landscape height)
But maybe this is due to my computer.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 May 2017 15:19

The altitude of the camera is the same in both pictures. Those were from when I tried it on the klud montes, which were successful. What is unsuccessful is trying it on the eroded hill, in the codes Ive given you.
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Posts: 309
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 May 2017 22:54

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post The altitude of the camera is the same in both pictures.
Attachments
Altitude1.jpg
Altitude1.jpg (240.24 KiB) Viewed 377 times
Altitude2.jpg
Altitude2.jpg (240.98 KiB) Viewed 377 times
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

22 May 2017 13:45

Check the altitude above sea level, to the right of the altitude above land. ;)
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 11 Nov 2016

Help with creating Mods and Addons

22 May 2017 14:35

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post Some regions of the montes were higher, but not others. I thought this was pretty cool, so I sought to add it to the "eroded" hills in my TPE terrain mod to help reduce homogeneity for huge regions of these hills, however the following code in my mod resulted in a loading error:

maybe in your code there are old reference to tg_common, or you've deleted some parenthesis...

anyway in your images the only difference is in global height, but the shape of mountain remain the same...
 
zhar22
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 10:47

Hello

Can anyone actually follow the modding, its so garbled and just "hints" at stuff. I am having some serious issues understanding how to tell space engine to use the cube map I generated.

Do I add my tileset folder to the main planets .pak? or to I just create a texture folder in the addons folder?

In the planet .sc my path is like this: DiffMap "addons\textures\planets\Mine\Surface-PBC" for a folder i created with that path there, ive tried to change the path is so many ways but I just get a white ball.

Also im confused as to where the alpha goes, in SE Earths texture folder the alpha mask and terrain textures are mixed, cant I just use a different separate folder for the alpha mask?

please help.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Posts: 309
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 11:06

zhar22 wrote:
Source of the post In the planet .sc my path is like this: DiffMap "addons\textures\planets\Mine\Surface-PBC"

The base folder for planetary textures is either 'data\textures\planets' or 'addons\textures\planets'.
Therefore the path specification must only be 'DiffMap "Mine\Surface-PBC"'.
 
zhar22
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 11:12

Yup thats exactly what I have, yet this is the result: 
Attachments
Capture.PNG
 
zhar22
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 11:14

Could it be that they are not packed in a .PAK file? and thank you for the assistance :)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Posts: 309
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 12:40

zhar22 wrote:
Source of the post Could it be that they are not packed in a .PAK file?

The structure within a .pak file must be the same as the one inside the 'data' folder or the 'addons' folder.

So for example:
Folders.jpg
Folders.jpg (47.48 KiB) Viewed 250 times
 
zhar22
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 12:54

Ive created a .PAK and the system worked but the texture still won't appear, its like it cant tell its inside the pak, do i need to add some script or what? im absolutely stumped. I can see that its nearly identical to the earth folder too. could it be because I have yet to a bump map?

Do you have a mod that uses a cube map? I could explore the folder and gut it to fit my mod.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Posts: 309
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 13:44

You can look at the 'SolarSys.sc'.
It is located in the 'Catalogs0980.pak' Archive.

Here is the example for the earth.
    Surface
    {
        // Surface map author: Robert Skuridin "PBC"
        DiffMap        "Earth/Surface-PBC"
        DiffTileSize    258
        DiffTileBorder  1
        DiffMapAlpha   "Water"

        // Elevation map author: Robert Skuridin "PBC"
        BumpMap        "Earth/Bump-PBC"
        BumpTileSize    258
        BumpTileBorder  1
        BumpHeight      19.475 // = 10896 + 8579 meters of total elevation span
        BumpOffset      10.896 // = 10896 meters below sea level

        // City lights map author: Sean Young "HarbingerDawn"
        GlowMap        "Earth/Lights-HD"
        GlowTileSize    258
        GlowTileBorder  1
        GlowMode       "Night"
        GlowColor      (1.00 0.90 0.66)
        GlowBright      1.0

        SpecBrightIce   0.0
        SpecBrightWater 0.35
        colorSea       (0.04 0.10 0.20 1.00)
        colorShelf     (0.15 0.48 0.46 1.00)
    }
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Posts: 191
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 13:49

zhar22 wrote:
Ive created a .PAK and the system worked but the texture still won't appear, its like it cant tell its inside the pak, do i need to add some script or what? im absolutely stumped. I can see that its nearly identical to the earth folder too. could it be because I have yet to a bump map?

Do you have a mod that uses a cube map? I could explore the folder and gut it to fit my mod.

In textures/planets/Folder_name, you have this structure (it is the minimum requirement) ?
  • neg_x
    • 0_0_0.extension
  • neg_y
    • 0_0_0.extension
  • neg_z
    • 0_0_0.extension
  • pos_x
    • 0_0_0.extension
  • pos_y
    • 0_0_0.extension
  • pos_z
    • 0_0_0.extension
  • base.extension
If Folder_name (and acces path) have space and symbol like ', it may have problems.
extension must be raw, png, jpg and for bump map, check if files are in grayscale mode without alpha channel (use GIMP by example).
I hope to help you.
 
zhar22
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 14:00

Everything is exactly like that, all the files are in RGB jpg's as its just a color map to start with. but again nothing shows. thank you btw.

And yes I used the solarsys.sc as a guide, if i change the paths to those of earth, earth shows, but not my carefully crafted planet,
Attachments
Capture.PNG
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Posts: 309
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

29 May 2017 15:06

I think the spelling of the folder names is case-sensitive.
This means that if you have 'DiffMap "Mine\Surface-PBC"' as the path specification, the folder names must be exactly the same.
Do you have that so?

And maybe you can post your se.log file?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests