Ultimate space simulation software

 
HeitorBarbosa47842
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 02 May 2018 18:37
Location: Earth
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 May 2018 12:17

I really can not solve my gas giant's problem with Saturn's rings, here's my script. If anyone can help me.
Attachments
Jorgea D.sc
(1.95 KiB) Downloaded 281 times
The Universe of HeitorBarbosa47842
Development Addon - The Universe Of HeitorBarbosa47842
 
User avatar
GeoPlayer123YT
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 May 2017 16:47
Location: Somewhere in the USA

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 May 2018 12:39

did you fix the problems that they pointed out?
Also, I tried making a copy of the earth script in mySystem.sc file and I put it in and saved it and restarted SE and when I went seacrh it i couldnt find it. I just copied Earth's script, and put the parent to saturn.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1770
Joined: 24 Oct 2016 11:34
Location: Italy
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

17 May 2018 15:27

 If anyone can help me.
There's always the same closing bracket missing. Copy the code JackDole corrected for you in a new file and see the difference between the two scripts.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Kspeher
Observer
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 01 Jan 2018 14:53

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 13:55

Hello I need help with my addon. As I am trying to make an custom system and wanted add a planet around a binary system. However, as soon as I make the parent body the barycenter (which has the correct mass by adding the 2 major bodies together) I get and extremely high orbital period. Although for and body around an ~1.2 solar mass object the orbital period is not >230 years. I also made sure that the period line in orbital parameters is removed. So that the game should calculate the period by itself, although it changed nothing. The object name is AA1.
scr00000.jpg
I'm also having the same problem with other objects which orbit around barycenters. Although this only applies to planets/dwarf planets and asteroids. If you want to check it out yourself here are the files.
Into-Planets= 
(S-T-N-E-S-C-Z) Systems V0.1.sc
(450.7 KiB) Downloaded 285 times
(Barycenters located in here. Name is for AA1 Claud-Zejad Barycenter)
Claud-Zejad Barycenter.sc
(2.92 KiB) Downloaded 275 times
(object AA1 located in here)
Into-Stars= 
Central Sternenwart Bary.sc
(148 Bytes) Downloaded 261 times
Thank you for your time.
Its Rocket Science
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 535
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:13
Location: Planet Meabh
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 14:12

It's a known bug, sadly. :( Until the bug is fixed, OrbitalPeriods must be calculated manually for objects orbiting Barycenters
Specs: STGAubron desktop PC; NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060/PCIe/SSE2 12 GB Vram, Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz, 12 cpus; 32 GB RAM; Windows 11 x64
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1874
Joined: 02 Nov 2016 18:18
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 15:58

 I also made sure that the period line in orbital parameters is removed. So that the game should calculate the period by itself, although it changed nothing.
As PlutonianEmpire says, it's a bug. SpaceEngine can not calculate the orbital period correctly when the object circles around a barycenter.
You can insert
        Period                0.02513794 
in the 'Orbit' tag.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 70
Joined: 05 Nov 2016 21:50
Location: here

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 17:01

Hello! I need help with cloud shaders. I'm trying to make the clouds generate only around the equator, and the poles. I think I found out where to edit the code, but I'm stuck. Any help is appreciated!

Download the attached file and fine "HeightMapCloudsTerra2".
Attachments
tg_common.glsl
(100.11 KiB) Downloaded 276 times
 
User avatar
Kspeher
Observer
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 01 Jan 2018 14:53

Help with creating Mods and Addons

02 Jun 2018 17:45

 I also made sure that the period line in orbital parameters is removed. So that the game should calculate the period by itself, although it changed nothing.
As PlutonianEmpire says, it's a bug. SpaceEngine can not calculate the orbital period correctly when the object circles around a barycenter.
You can insert
        Period                0.02513794 
in the 'Orbit' tag.
Thank you for your help :D
Its Rocket Science
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018 10:20
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 10:27

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Hello I need help with my addon. I am creating a custom solar system, I am trying to create Barycenters around my star because I would like to have a radial velocity effect on some planets. Does anyone know how to make a Barycenters?[/font]
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018 10:20
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 10:30

[font=Roboto, sans-serif]Hello I need help with my addon. I am creating a custom solar system, I am trying to create Barycenters around my star because I would like to have a radial velocity effect on some planets. Does anyone know how to make a Barycenters?[/font]
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018 10:20
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 10:32

Here's the Barycenter script:

[code]Barycenter    "MyBarycenter"
{
ParentBody "MyStar" 
  RA      78 07 31
    Dec     97 15 23
    Dist    11
    
    Mass    0.811
    AppMagn 5.88
}[/code]
 
HeitorBarbosa47842
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 02 May 2018 18:37
Location: Earth
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 10:38

Aqui está o script do Barycenter:
Barycenter    "MyBarycenter"
{
    ParentBody   "MyStar"  
    RA      78 07 31
    Dec     97 15 23
    Dist    11
    
    Mass    0.811
    AppMagn 5.88
}
you can not add ParentBody to an object that has coordinates, so you need to put in the catalog of planets because your script is creating an object for the Star catalog. then your script should look like this:
Put the script on planet catalog folder

Barycenter    "MyBarycenter"
{
    ParentBody     "MyStar"

    Mass            0.811
    
    Orbit
    {
        Epoch          2443000
        Period         0.009724533474
        SemiMajorAxis  0.004484625668
        Eccentricity   0.0101
        Inclination    0.47
        AscendingNode  101.087
        LongOfPericen  155.512
        MeanLongitude  176.377
    }
}
If the problem persists, verify that the file extension is sc.
Last edited by HeitorBarbosa47842 on 03 Jun 2018 10:56, edited 2 times in total.
The Universe of HeitorBarbosa47842
Development Addon - The Universe Of HeitorBarbosa47842
 
Ryan Style
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jun 2018 10:20
Location: Proxima B

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 10:42

Now I see my error I was putting the file in the cfg extension and was putting in the wrong folder. now that I remembered that catalog objects will only work if the extension is sc and they will be in the right folder. But thanks for the help.
 
HeitorBarbosa47842
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 02 May 2018 18:37
Location: Earth
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2018 10:49

Now I see my error I was putting the file in the cfg extension and was putting in the wrong folder. now that I remembered that catalog objects will only work if the extension is sc and they will be in the right folder. But thanks for the help.
this is normal, this problem is very common for beginners of Space Engine, when I started to create mods for Space Engine I had some difficulties in the beginning to create addons. But this happens.
The Universe of HeitorBarbosa47842
Development Addon - The Universe Of HeitorBarbosa47842
 
User avatar
Propulsion Disk
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 233
Joined: 04 Jun 2018 21:35

Help with creating Mods and Addons

04 Jun 2018 21:52

Hello, I'm trying to import my ship (The Charioteer) to space engine but it's not working. I looked through the ship tutorial like 28 times and did everything it said but it still doesn't work. I'm pretty sure the problem is that my obj and stl files are not converting to .sm and .sml files for some reason, I know that they are supposed to automatically convert to those files but for some odd reason they're not, maybe it's the way that they're opened or something else I'm not sure but I was hoping someone would help with this because I have been trying for days now and I had kinda enough now. (PS) by "the way they're opened" I mean like if they should be opened in like notepad or something. Anyway, thank you and I hope you can help because so far no one has asked this question and was kinda thinking that it was because no one knew. But anyway, THANKS again!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests