Free planetarium

 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 567
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2017 10:10

Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post How can I place this system in the andromeda galaxy? I want Hannah to have a thicker atmosphere plus life but I don't know how.


It is difficult to correctly position objects at such a distance.
But you can try this:
// Solar.sc

StarBarycenter "Solar"
{
    RA      0 42 36.20      //15.254208
    Dec     41 32 46.55     // -15.254208
    Dist    780850          // 100
}


For Hannah you can try this:
Planet    "Hannah"
{
    ParentBody     "Solaria"
    Class          "Terra"

    Mass            0.91
    
    Life
    {
        Class   "Organic"
        Type    "Multicellular"
        Biome   "Marine/Terrestrial"
    }

    Atmosphere
    {
        Height      73
        Greenhouse  15.283
    
        Pressure    0.98
        Density     1.128
        
        Composition
        {
            N2  72.0674757923
            O2  22.8773000577
            Ar  0.477013185303
            H2O 2.3152231106
            CO2 2.26298785408
        }
    }

    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane       "Equator"
        SemiMajorAxis   0.84
        Eccentricity    0.0
        Inclination     0
        AscendingNode   0
        LongOfPericen   0
        MeanLongitude   252.251
    }
}


And you should not call your scripts 'Stars.sc' or 'SolarSys.sc'. These are default names that SpaceEngine uses. This could lead to problems.
You could call the script for the 'StarBarycenter', for example 'Solar.sc' and the script for the system 'Solaria.sc'
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 240
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2017 10:24

JackDole wrote:
Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post How can I place this system in the andromeda galaxy? I want Hannah to have a thicker atmosphere plus life but I don't know how.


It is difficult to correctly position objects at such a distance.
But you can try this:
// Solar.sc

StarBarycenter "Solar"
{
    RA      0 42 36.20      //15.254208
    Dec     41 32 46.55     // -15.254208
    Dist    780850          // 100
}


For Hannah you can try this:
Planet    "Hannah"
{
    ParentBody     "Solaria"
    Class          "Terra"

    Mass            0.91
    
    Life
    {
        Class   "Organic"
        Type    "Multicellular"
        Biome   "Marine/Terrestrial"
    }

    Atmosphere
    {
        Height      73
        Greenhouse  15.283
    
        Pressure    0.98
        Density     1.128
        
        Composition
        {
            N2  72.0674757923
            O2  22.8773000577
            Ar  0.477013185303
            H2O 2.3152231106
            CO2 2.26298785408
        }
    }

    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane       "Equator"
        SemiMajorAxis   0.84
        Eccentricity    0.0
        Inclination     0
        AscendingNode   0
        LongOfPericen   0
        MeanLongitude   252.251
    }
}


And you should not call your scripts 'Stars.sc' or 'SolarSys.sc'. These are default names that SpaceEngine uses. This could lead to problems.
You could call the script for the 'StarBarycenter', for example 'Solar.sc' and the script for the system 'Solaria.sc'

Alright. Names changed and it looks good. 
Could Hannah be locked with its moon, is it possible, I also would like to know how to make barycenters, but I don't know how. How can I make Asteroid belts? 
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 567
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

03 Jun 2017 11:03

Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post Could Hannah be locked with its moon, is it possible, I also would like to know how to make barycenters, but I don't know how.

Barycenter  "Hannah-Emma"
{
    ParentBody     "Solaria"
    
    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane        "Equator"
        Period          0.769872768
        SemiMajorAxis   0.84
        Eccentricity    0
        Inclination     0
        AscendingNode   0
        ArgOfPericenter 0
        MeanAnomaly     252.251
    }
}

Planet    "Hannah"
{
    ParentBody     "Hannah-Emma"
    Class          "Terra"

    Mass            0.91
    
    RotationPeriod  161.952     // 6.748 days = Orbitalperiod moon
    
    Life
    {
        Class   "Organic"
        Type    "Multicellular"
        Biome   "Marine/Terrestrial"
    }

    Atmosphere
    {
        Height      73
        Greenhouse  15.283
    
        Pressure    0.98
        Density     1.128
        
        Composition
        {
            N2  72.0674757923
            O2  22.8773000577
            Ar  0.477013185303
            H2O 2.3152231106
            CO2 2.26298785408
        }
    }

    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane        "Equator"
        Period          0.01847502
        SemiMajorAxis   7.14305517e-005
        Eccentricity    0
        Inclination     0
        AscendingNode   0
        ArgOfPericenter 180
        MeanAnomaly     252.251
    }
}

Moon    "Emma"
{
    ParentBody     "Hannah-Emma"
    Class          "Selena"

    Mass            0.07
    
    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane        "Equator"
        Period          0.01847502
        SemiMajorAxis   0.00092859842428464
        Eccentricity    0
        Inclination     0
        AscendingNode   0
        ArgOfPericenter 0
        MeanAnomaly     252.251
    }
}

Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post How can I make Asteroid belts?

If you have Python installed, you can try this: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71&p=5679#p5679

If not, maybe something suitable is here: http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-337 ... 1458064127
 
User avatar
Irolokirt
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 21 Feb 2017
Location: toscana italia

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Jun 2017 10:01

i'm starting to learn how to make 3d models for SE, but i've a little problem,
for convert the model into obj i use modelconverterX.
but in the highlight preview (i don't know what it is) the model appear red or pink... the same in space engine , how can i fix it? 
 
User avatar
JediTrekkie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Gliese 581 g

Help with creating Mods and Addons

20 Jun 2017 18:58

I'm trying to terraform Europa, but it not really going how I wanted it to....
Attachments
scr00183.jpg
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 567
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Jun 2017 00:27

JediTrekkie wrote:
Source of the post I'm trying to terraform Europa, but it not really going how I wanted it to....

Try this:

Europa as Oceania
// EuropaOceania.sc

Moon    "Europa"
{
    ParentBody     "Jupiter"
    Class          "Oceania"

    Mass            0.008035
    Radius          1560.8

    Color         ( 0.745 0.718 0.655 )
    Albedo          0.64
    Brightness      2.4

    Atmosphere
    {
        Height      60
        Greenhouse  200
        Pressure    1.0
        Density     1.2929
        Adiabat     0.28
        Model      "Earth"
        Bright      10.0
        Opacity     1.0
        SkyLight    3.0
        
        Composition
        {
            N2  77.7729
            O2  20.8625
            Ar  0.9303
            H2O 0.4000
            CO2 0.0398
        }
    }
    
    Orbit
    {
        Epoch          2443000
        Period         0.009724533474
        SemiMajorAxis  0.004484625668
        Eccentricity   0.0101
        Inclination    0.47
        AscendingNode  101.087
        LongOfPericen  155.512
        MeanLongitude  176.377
    }
}

scr00051.png

Europa as Terra
// EuropaTerra.sc

Moon    "Europa"
{
    ParentBody     "Jupiter"
    Class          "Terra"

    Mass            0.008035
    Radius          1560.8

    Color         ( 0.745 0.718 0.655 )
    Albedo          0.64
    Brightness      2.4

    
    Surface
    {
        BumpHeight        18.254
        BumpOffset        7.937
    }
    
    Ocean
    {
        Height  7.937
    }
    
    Atmosphere
    {
        Height      60
        Greenhouse  200
        Pressure    1.0
        Density     1.2929
        Adiabat     0.28
        Model      "Earth"
        Bright      10.0
        Opacity     1.0
        SkyLight    3.0
        
        Composition
        {
            N2  77.7729
            O2  20.8625
            Ar  0.9303
            H2O 0.4000
            CO2 0.0398
        }
    }
    
    Orbit
    {
        Epoch          2443000
        Period         0.009724533474
        SemiMajorAxis  0.004484625668
        Eccentricity   0.0101
        Inclination    0.47
        AscendingNode  101.087
        LongOfPericen  155.512
        MeanLongitude  176.377
    }
}

scr00052.png

I have made two versions. Europa as Oceania and as Terra.

The pictures are made with SE 0.971. In SE 0.980 may it In SE 0.980 it may look different.

For better results, you must edit Europa in the editor.
 
User avatar
JediTrekkie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Gliese 581 g

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Jun 2017 22:55

JackDole, thanks! had so trouble the first few times, cuz first there were 2 Europas second time, it was called "No Name" for whatever reason, but after exporting and tweaking a bit, it worked out perfectly! I even added life.
Attachments
scr00184.jpg
scr00185.jpg
scr00186.jpg
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 235
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Help with creating Mods and Addons

21 Jun 2017 22:57

If one were to create a galaxy similar to this new type found here: https://www.nasa.gov/feature/goddard/20 ... isk-galaxy , what colors might be best when creating the subsystems image?

(Big image!)
Image
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Stab74
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 45
Joined: 26 Mar 2017

Help with creating Mods and Addons

23 Jun 2017 07:41

Does anyone know anything about ripping 3d ship models from games?  I know nothing about this until the little amount of research I've done since last night.  I spent hours trying to get a model of the USS Sulaco that someone else had ripped from somewhere but it was exported not in a way that SE could use to import.  So I'm trying to learn to do it myself.  So far I've stumbled upon software such as 3DX Ripper and Ninja Ripper.  Seems Ninja Ripper is/was popular to rip models from Star Trek Online but I get the impression the developer doesn't update it any more.  Does anyone here use these or similar software?  
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 240
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Help with creating Mods and Addons

30 Jun 2017 10:50

Okay, so I am having a few issues and questions with creating this system.

I created some moons in the script, and for some reason they won't show up in the system in spaceengine. I've tried editing the script several times but nothing I do seems to fix the issue. There might be some other errors or some things in the script, I just don't know. 

Are the orbits in this system realistic? Like would the larger planets screw up the system over time?

I would like to know if there is someway to make procedural moons, is there a script that can generate moons for planets out there? 
Attachments
Giversys.sc
Placed in addons/catalogs/planets
(6.94 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 567
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

30 Jun 2017 12:54

Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post I created some moons in the script, and for some reason they won't show up in the system in spaceengine.

This may be due to the fact that you repeatedly use the same names in your systems. Maybe you may find the moons that do not appear in your system 'Giver' in one of your other systems.

For example, you use 'Hanna' and 'Emma' in your system 'Solaris' and in your system 'Giver'. That can lead to problems.
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 240
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Help with creating Mods and Addons

30 Jun 2017 19:28

JackDole wrote:
Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post I created some moons in the script, and for some reason they won't show up in the system in spaceengine.

This may be due to the fact that you repeatedly use the same names in your systems. Maybe you may find the moons that do not appear in your system 'Giver' in one of your other systems.

For example, you use 'Hanna' and 'Emma' in your system 'Solaris' and in your system 'Giver'. That can lead to problems.

Okay, I removed that other system from the files for the time being. 
I have another question. How do you make realistic barycenters?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 567
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Help with creating Mods and Addons

01 Jul 2017 02:51

Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post How do you make realistic barycenters?

What do you mean by realistic barycenter?

How to make a barycenter, you can read here:

To make a binary star system or a binary planet system, make sure that the following parameters are the same for both bodies in the system: Eccentricity, Inclination, AscendingNode, MeanAnomaly. The ArgOfPericenter parameter of the first body must differ by 180 degrees from the same parameter of the second body. It’s also necessary to calculate the SemiMajorAxis parameter for each body based on their masses using these simple formulae:

Body 1: a1 = R * M1 / (M1 + M2)
Body 2: a2 = R * M2 / (M1 + M2)

where R is the distance between the bodies, i.e. sum of their semimajor axes a1 + a2;
M1 and M2 are masses of bodies.

(From the manual, the section about 'Orbits')
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 240
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Help with creating Mods and Addons

01 Jul 2017 07:48

JackDole wrote:
Starlight Glimmer wrote:
Source of the post How do you make realistic barycenters?

What do you mean by realistic barycenter?

How to make a barycenter, you can read here:

To make a binary star system or a binary planet system, make sure that the following parameters are the same for both bodies in the system: Eccentricity, Inclination, AscendingNode, MeanAnomaly. The ArgOfPericenter parameter of the first body must differ by 180 degrees from the same parameter of the second body. It’s also necessary to calculate the SemiMajorAxis parameter for each body based on their masses using these simple formulae:

Body 1: a1 = R * M1 / (M1 + M2)
Body 2: a2 = R * M2 / (M1 + M2)

where R is the distance between the bodies, i.e. sum of their semimajor axes a1 + a2;
M1 and M2 are masses of bodies.

(From the manual, the section about 'Orbits')

A barycenter that would make sense in real life for example.
Thank you, that has solved more than a year and a half of not knowing how!
 
User avatar
JediTrekkie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Gliese 581 g

Help with creating Mods and Addons

07 Jul 2017 11:51

I need help placing a star within the Andromeda galaxy. according to Wikipedia, its RA is 00h 42m 44s, Dec is 41 degrees 16 min 9 sec, and DIST is 778 Parsecs. if I use the same coordinates, I'm sure it would place it in the center and I need it in the suburbs like Earth is in our galaxy, but I don't want it way above or way below the plane of the galaxy (If any of this makes sense). please help me, ive been messing with the script for an hour with no luck. thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests