Free planetarium

 
Cinderwolf
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 08 Aug 2017

Online spacecraft editor

10 Aug 2017 09:38

JackDole wrote:
Cinderwolf wrote:
Source of the post I was sure there was supposed to be an 's' in there...

In older SE versions it was 'spacecrafts', with 's' at the end.

I think the very first post in this thread will need to be updated with the correct directory structure as it seems it's mislead a few in the past until now! :)
 
Rudolf
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Sep 2017

Online spacecraft editor

10 Sep 2017 01:15

hey ppl!
i have 3 questions.
first of all, the units used in the sss files are meters?
and secondly, how can i make a single docking port?
are the ships always docking up with their middle point, or can i make them to dock up with some other part of their models?
im thinking about making or editing big stations, and make them able to have bigger ships docked up as well, without looking really weird, and clipping into eachother.
thanks
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 93
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Online spacecraft editor

10 Sep 2017 18:00

Rudolf wrote:
hey ppl!
i have 3 questions.
first of all, the units used in the sss files are meters?
and secondly, how can i make a single docking port?
are the ships always docking up with their middle point, or can i make them to dock up with some other part of their models?
im thinking about making or editing big stations, and make them able to have bigger ships docked up as well, without looking really weird, and clipping into eachother.
thanks

Firstly, have you read this:

http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-ad ... ng-a-ship/

And yes, units in ship files are meters.

Both ships need a docking port in order to dock. Although I'm not sure how SE will behave if two ships attempting to dock both have more than one docking port.

If you have a ship selected in SE, you can press shift-F2 to enter the ship editor. You can add, move, and rotate as many docking ports as you wish. Or you can edit the .cfg file for the ship. (Either unzip the .pak file or edit an existing ship and save it, it will create a new .cfg file for it to see existing ship docks.)

Hope that helps.

-Alex

(Edit: Doh! editor is shift-F2, not just F2.)
Last edited by Mr. Abner on 13 Sep 2017 08:25, edited 1 time in total.
 
Rudolf
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Sep 2017

Online spacecraft editor

11 Sep 2017 09:19

hey alex (or mr. abner sire lol)
i wasnt aware, se has a working ship editor.... i was looking for it at the main menu lol
thanks, its gonna help a lot
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 93
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Online spacecraft editor

13 Sep 2017 08:26

Rudolf wrote:
hey alex (or mr. abner sire lol)
i wasnt aware, se has a working ship editor.... i was looking for it at the main menu lol
thanks, its gonna help a lot

Made a small edit to my previous post: the in-game editor is accessed via shift-F2, not just F2. Hope I didn't cause anybody any grief and frustration. ;)
-Alex 
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Online spacecraft editor

15 Sep 2017 02:16

That's going to be my next goal- ship and plane building! How do you cram so much stuff into a 1.5 GB program?!  An entire universe full of worlds that can be explored and a flight simulator on top of that? I have a 15 GB program that doesn't do all this (that I paid $300 for!)  The only thing it does that SE doesn't do is plot the motion of stars and galaxies and the solar system from 10 million years in the past to 10 million years in the future.
 
User avatar
Mr. Missed Her
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 54
Joined: 09 May 2017

Online spacecraft editor

26 Sep 2017 17:36

I downloaded the downloadable editor, but when I tried to run it, it says that my graphics card does not support webGL. I tried enabling it in Chrome (which, somehow, the editor seems to use), but no luck. Any help?

But I could use the online editor, and I created this:
ImageImage
The Blockade Runner, a compact ship with one purpose: don't get destroyed. That is, other than moving things from planet to planet. It has heavy armor and powerful thrusters, and is capable of 33 g's of accel if it isn't transporting humans.
Attachments
blockade runner.sss
(249.96 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Space is very spacious.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mr. Abner and 1 guest