Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 8
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 620
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

14 Mar 2017 12:35

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Hi where can I download the 7 new exoplanets

Here.
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post (and is there a way to automatically update exoplanets as they are discovered like Starry Night Pro Plus does?)

No. But they may be updated in the next version of SpaceEngine.
In the meantime you can create own scripts for newly discovered exoplanets.



And you should not repeatedly ask the same question in different threads.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

14 Mar 2017 14:23

Thanks Jack!  If one were to create a script for newly discovered exoplanets, how would they be able to create the 3D textures to display them in the program, rather than just place a marker?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 620
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

14 Mar 2017 14:33

A-L-E-X,
You can find instructions on how to create addons here.
 
User avatar
MrZoolook
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 32
Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Location: Southampton
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

15 Mar 2017 12:43

skywalker66 wrote:
Source of the post Is it possible that the terrestrial exoplanets in SE can have a combined set of large shield volcanoes, stratovolcanoes AND fold mountains? I believe I found such one world at RS 8474-1792-7-1182176-266 A5

Nice find!
M/B: F1A55-MLE // CPU: AMD A8-3870 (o/c) // RAM: 2x4gb // GPU: Radeon R7-240 2gb
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

16 Mar 2017 02:38

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X,
You can find instructions on how to create addons here.

Thanks Jack.  I really like the search feature in SE but I could not find the most extreme redshifted objects like GN-z11 and distant GRBs, so I can try to add them with those?  Also, I have the Tycho star catalog from Starry Night Pro Plus, could that also be added to SE?  It would add many times more stars than what are available with the Hipparcos catalog.
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 620
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

16 Mar 2017 02:54

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post  I could not find the most extreme redshifted objects like GN-z11 and distant GRBs, so I can try to add them with those?

You can try.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

16 Mar 2017 03:21

 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

16 Mar 2017 03:22

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post  I could not find the most extreme redshifted objects like GN-z11 and distant GRBs, so I can try to add them with those?

You can try.

Thanks, Jack.  Will the other very distant objects be implemented in the next release?  Also, will the Tycho and Tycho-2 Catalogs be implemented- that would increase the number of real stars from over 100,000 to over 2 million!  I believe the data is freely available.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 754
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

16 Mar 2017 03:59

A-L-E-X, are you using some special combination of colors/fonts with your browser? Copy-pasting the internet like this it makes unreadable your posts.
It would be much more effective to simply link the original pages.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

16 Mar 2017 06:07

Sorry for going off-topic, but am i the only one thinking this thread doesn't belong in the News and Announcement forum?
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 262
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

20 Mar 2017 16:16

Just to double check so I know for sure; are the style ranges in the palette.cfg file linked in anyway to a planet's temperature (such as 0 = scorched and 1.0 = frozen)? Or something else? Or is it procedurally randomized?
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Dr. Kaii
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 138
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Manchester England
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

05 Apr 2017 14:57

Are the atmosphere colours calculated based on the composition and other factors, or is it random?

EDIT: I found the answer from the manual. No they are not, they are calculated from other factors though, like pressure. 
i7 7700K - 4.7MHz, Inno3D GeForce GTX 1080 HerculeZ Twin X2 8192MB, 32GB DDR4 3000MHz, CV1 + Oculus Touch
 
User avatar
Dr. Kaii
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 138
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Manchester England
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

09 Apr 2017 11:39

I am thinking of starting a small games company and am wondering if there are any  details about what Vladimir plans to do with the SDK - i.e. how much of the engine we will be able to lease etc.?
i7 7700K - 4.7MHz, Inno3D GeForce GTX 1080 HerculeZ Twin X2 8192MB, 32GB DDR4 3000MHz, CV1 + Oculus Touch
 
SCU
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Mar 2017

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

13 Apr 2017 14:49

Dr. Kaii wrote:
Dr. Kaii wrote:
Source of the post I found the answer from the manual. No they are not, they are calculated from other factors though, like pressure. 


Hey, do you mind if I ask what manual did you find this in? Is there another more detailed manual than the readme from docs folder or the quickstart in this site? Thanks.
 
User avatar
Dr. Kaii
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 138
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Manchester England
Contact:

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

13 Apr 2017 15:13

The manual is here.

The specific answer to my question is in the planets modding section: http://spaceengine.org/manual/making-addons/creating-a-planet/

"SpaceEngine can compute Density, MolarMass, Adiabat and Greenhouse based on atmosphere composition"
i7 7700K - 4.7MHz, Inno3D GeForce GTX 1080 HerculeZ Twin X2 8192MB, 32GB DDR4 3000MHz, CV1 + Oculus Touch
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest