Free planetarium

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 8
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 12:11

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Do I need to do anything as far as changing the graphics settings or cfg file?

I do not think so. But you can try it.
These are my settings.
scr00004.png

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Do you have any modified shaders for planet rendering

No.

Thank you, our settings are already very similar lol.  You did not change any of the saturation settings in the .cfg file, Jack?

Screenshot - 9_1_2017 , 3_10_12 PM.jpg
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 532
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 12:31

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post You did not change any of the saturation settings in the .cfg file

No.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 12:37

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post You did not change any of the saturation settings in the .cfg file

No.

Thanks Jack.  The only differences I see in the graphics settings is you have a higher setting for aurora, I have MSAA turned on, I have a slightly faster loading speed, and a lower black hole rendering quality.
If I use SE pre-patch what do I lose?  Just accurate rendering of solar system eclipses, nothing else?
I can use SNPP or Stellarium for eclipses only.
For the star shader file, does that also work with nebulae, clusters or galaxies or do you have a separate one for that?  Also, do I need to do anything to activate it, Jack?  Thanks!
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 532
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 14:04

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post For the star shader file, does that also work with nebulae, clusters or galaxies or do you have a separate one for that?

No. No.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 15:35

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post For the star shader file, does that also work with nebulae, clusters or galaxies or do you have a separate one for that?

No. No.

Jack does anything need to be done to activate the star shader plugin?
 
Mr. Abner
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 76
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 16:51

Not an expert here, but I think the star saturation/look may be attributable to the lower screen resolution you are using compared to JackDole. Your individual pixels are going to be larger, and you can't make a star look smaller than 1 pixel.

No help at all with your other problems, I'm afraid, I haven't bothered with the 0.9.8.0e patch. (I never spend any time anywhere near Earth in S.E. I don't think I've ever even been in our own solar system in S.E.)

-Alex
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 17:11

Mr. Abner wrote:
Not an expert here, but I think the star saturation/look may be attributable to the lower screen resolution you are using compared to JackDole. Your individual pixels are going to be larger, and you can't make a star look smaller than 1 pixel.

No help at all with your other problems, I'm afraid, I haven't bothered with the 0.9.8.0e patch. (I never spend any time anywhere near Earth in S.E. I don't think I've ever even been in our own solar system in S.E.)

-Alex


hmmm that sounds a lot like when res-ing down an astrophotograph you get the same kind of effect.
I installed the star shader plugin let's see what happens.
The water not rippling with the patch version is weird.  No clouds is only something that happens on Earth.  On exoplanets I still see clouds.  Some exoplanets have atmospheres some don't (like in the Trappist-1 system only the b and c planets seem to have atmospheres.)
Procedural planets are unchanged and maintain full detail.
 
Mr. Abner
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 76
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 18:49

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post No clouds is only something that happens on Earth.

Perhaps that's by design. How can you see an eclipse if it's cloudy? ;)

Oh... and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there. You need to go much faster if you want to see stars whiz by à la Star Trek.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 798
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 20:18

Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there

If SE had relativistic effects you would see stars zipping by through a highly distorted view of the universe, at least up through 1c, at 1c it would get stranger.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
Mr. Abner
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 76
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 23:29

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there

If SE had relativistic effects you would see stars zipping by through a highly distorted view of the universe, at least up through 1c, at 1c it would get stranger.

Yes, of course. But then SE would need a separate clock for every object moving at a different speed.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 23:37

Mr. Abner wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post No clouds is only something that happens on Earth.

Perhaps that's by design. How can you see an eclipse if it's cloudy? ;)

Oh... and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there. You need to go much faster if you want to see stars whiz by à la Star Trek.

Yeah I just select Goto and I get that whizzing effect of the warp drive that Doc was talking about.
I'm talking more along the lines of say I am orbiting a planet or flying over a planet and want to explore the terrain below me.  The terrain doesn't change no matter how fast I go.

I actually like the clear blue skies.  I miss the rippling water and the reflection of the sun on the water much more.
Last edited by A-L-E-X on 01 Sep 2017 23:41, edited 1 time in total.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 23:39

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there

If SE had relativistic effects you would see stars zipping by through a highly distorted view of the universe, at least up through 1c, at 1c it would get stranger.

Well, for those traveling at 1c, they would experience no passage of time at all :P
BTW that shader plugin didn't seem to help matters, or maybe I need to "activate" it somehow?
Screenshot - 9_2_2017 , 2_31_41 AM.jpg
 
Mr. Abner
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 76
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 23:47

A-L-E-X wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post No clouds is only something that happens on Earth.

Perhaps that's by design. How can you see an eclipse if it's cloudy? ;)

Oh... and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there. You need to go much faster if you want to see stars whiz by à la Star Trek.

Yeah I just select Goto and I get that whizzing effect of the warp drive that Doc was talking about.
I'm talking more along the lines of say I am orbiting a planet or flying over a planet and want to explore the terrain below me.  The terrain doesn't change no matter how fast I go.

Wait a minute, that doesn't sound right... how are you changing the velocity? Mouse wheel? That just changes the acceleration you will experience once you try and change velocity with one of the keys (arrows keys, num-pad 1 & 0).

You should see two numbers next to the clock at the bottom left, the top one is actual velocity, the bottom one is your current acceleration setting.

If this is blatantly obvious, my apologies, but I can think of no other reason you can travel from star to star, or planet to planet, yet once there cannot move relative to that planet.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 747
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Patch 0.9.8.0e

01 Sep 2017 23:57

Mr. Abner wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
Perhaps that's by design. How can you see an eclipse if it's cloudy? ;)

Oh... and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there. You need to go much faster if you want to see stars whiz by à la Star Trek.

Yeah I just select Goto and I get that whizzing effect of the warp drive that Doc was talking about.
I'm talking more along the lines of say I am orbiting a planet or flying over a planet and want to explore the terrain below me.  The terrain doesn't change no matter how fast I go.

Wait a minute, that doesn't sound right... how are you changing the velocity? Mouse wheel? That just changes the acceleration you will experience once you try and change velocity with one of the keys (arrows keys, num-pad 1 & 0).

You should see two numbers next to the clock at the bottom left, the top one is actual velocity, the bottom one is your current acceleration setting.

If this is blatantly obvious, my apologies, but I can think of no other reason you can travel from star to star, or planet to planet, yet once there cannot move relative to that planet.

I am using the arrow things at the bottom and clicking on them.  Am I doing it wrong?  I click on the one that says Increasing Velocity.  I just sit in the same location no matter how fast I make it.

And since we are on the subject of the clock, how can time be set to a particular minute and second?  I can get the date and the hour but it ignores me when I try to set it to the exact minute and second.
 
Mr. Abner
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 76
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

Patch 0.9.8.0e

02 Sep 2017 00:09

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Mr. Abner wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
Perhaps that's by design. How can you see an eclipse if it's cloudy?

Oh... and travelling at 1c is still slow given the size of the Universe. Think about it — try travelling from Earth to Proxima Centauri at 1c and it will take you a little over 4 years to get there. You need to go much faster if you want to see stars whiz by à la Star Trek.

Yeah I just select Goto and I get that whizzing effect of the warp drive that Doc was talking about.
I'm talking more along the lines of say I am orbiting a planet or flying over a planet and want to explore the terrain below me.  The terrain doesn't change no matter how fast I go.

Wait a minute, that doesn't sound right... how are you changing the velocity? Mouse wheel? That just changes the acceleration you will experience once you try and change velocity with one of the keys (arrows keys, num-pad 1 & 0).

You should see two numbers next to the clock at the bottom left, the top one is actual velocity, the bottom one is your current acceleration setting.

If this is blatantly obvious, my apologies, but I can think of no other reason you can travel from star to star, or planet to planet, yet once there cannot move relative to that planet.

I am using the arrow things at the bottom and clicking on them.  Am I doing it wrong?  I click on the on
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post I am using the arrow things at the bottom and clicking on them.  Am I doing it wrong?  I click on the one that says Increasing Velocity.  I just sit in the same location no matter how fast I make it.

And since we are on the subject of the clock, how can time be set to a particular minute and second?  I can get the date and the hour but it ignores me when I try to set it to the exact minute and second.


I don't know about any arrow buttons to click on, I'm talking about the actual cursor arrow keys. Up = accelerate forward; down = decelerate, or accelerate backwards; left & right = well, left and right; numpad 1 = accelerate vertically up; numpad 0 = down; Z key will cancel all movement.

For rotation, use the numpad keys 8, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9. The numpag 5 key will cancel all rotation.

And how these affect the camera will depend on what mode you are in. The upper row number keys 1 to 3 will change how the camera reacts. (4 is to take control of a ship.)

Hope this helps.

Edit: Oh, and if you are a "gamer", the movement keys (and some rotation keys?) are duplicated on the left side of the keyboard, but I don't use them much, so don't remember what they are. You can assign any keys of your choice from the Main menu, Settings submenu, Controls option.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest