Page 4 of 9

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 17 Apr 2017 10:54
by Xoran
That picture is awesome, it looks kind of like a very awesome shield thing.

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 17 Apr 2017 12:30
by Mosfet
Fancymaster1 wrote:
Source of the post Would there be a way to get SE to run on OGL 3.1, or get OGL 3.3 for my graphics (if possible at all)?

The only way I see is to try using older SpaceEngine versions from here: http://old.spaceengine.org/load/, to find which worked with OpenGL 3.1, unfortunately I don't have this information.
This other thread has links to historical versions: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=182&hilit=history#p2698

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 17 Apr 2017 13:35
by PlutonianEmpire
Does anyone know what version of OpenGL that SE 0.981 is expected to use? My laptop currently is a Dell Inspiron 5547; 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 with 192 mb of Vram and OpenGL 4.3.

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 17 Apr 2017 14:13
by Mosfet
PlutonianEmpire, I think you're covered with your OpenGL version.

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 17 Apr 2017 16:11
by Fancymaster1
My AMD Card? I never said Space Engine crashed, Space Engine crashed Windows with a BSOD like "Faulty_Hardware_Corrupted_Page" or something like that. Did that within 30 minutes of gameplay, plus the massive amounts of lag.
That's why when I found out that the Inspiron Laptop I got last month ran games much faster than the Gateway Desktop, I thought SE 0.9.8 would run perfectly. Why does nothing ever work when I want it to...

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 17 Apr 2017 17:33
by PlutonianEmpire
Mosfet, Thank you! :)

Can my PC run Space Engine?

Posted: 22 May 2017 00:40
by ephu
Hello, I am thinking of getting a gtx 1050ti with a kabylake intel pentium processor. Is this setup good for space engine?

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 May 2017 15:12
by HarbingerDawn
A-L-E-X wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post GTX 580 (1.5 GB) and a new GT 730 (4GB)

Man, those are 5 years-old GPUs. Why not buy some GTX 1060?
580 is much faster than 730: link, and 1.5 GB is enough for SE, if you will not use LOD 1.

Problem is that my motherboard is not compatible with anything newer than PCI-e 2.0  The GT 730 was actually the last PCI-e 2.0 GPU made- from 2014.

I used a GTX 970 with my old motherboard from 2009, and it worked fine. PCIe 3 is backwards compatible with PCIe 2, just like USB 3.x & 2.0, SATA III & II, etc.

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 May 2017 15:17
by SpaceEngineer
Maybe it's a time to upgrade the motherboard? I know this also mean upgrade CPU and RAM, but anyway...

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 May 2017 19:11
by arcadiandecay
My old GT 9600 GT is still chugging away, along with this AMD...quad...um....gawd, I don't even remember.  I think it's a Phenom, but, I haven't checked in so long.  When I run SE, it cries, that's all I know. xD  And I love every second of it!

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 May 2017 22:42
by A-L-E-X
HarbingerDawn wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Man, those are 5 years-old GPUs. Why not buy some GTX 1060?
580 is much faster than 730: link, and 1.5 GB is enough for SE, if you will not use LOD 1.

Problem is that my motherboard is not compatible with anything newer than PCI-e 2.0  The GT 730 was actually the last PCI-e 2.0 GPU made- from 2014.

I used a GTX 970 with my old motherboard from 2009, and it worked fine. PCIe 3 is backwards compatible with PCIe 2, just like USB 3.x & 2.0, SATA III & II, etc.

I'll try it and see how it goes but from reports from other users my VIA PT880 chipset doesn't play nice with PCIe 3 :-(
Meanwhile there's a new version of SE out?
How do we save our favorite locations, logs, settings etc.?

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 May 2017 22:44
by A-L-E-X
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Maybe it's a time to upgrade the motherboard? I know this also mean upgrade CPU and RAM, but anyway...

Question, is it a bad idea to be using the internet while running SE at the same time?  I get vast slow downs in surfing when I run them together, of course I use three different browsers at the same time so that might have something to do with it too.

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 25 May 2017 07:36
by ephu
A-L-E-X wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Maybe it's a time to upgrade the motherboard? I know this also mean upgrade CPU and RAM, but anyway...

Question, is it a bad idea to be using the internet while running SE at the same time?  I get vast slow downs in surfing when I run them together, of course I use three different browsers at the same time so that might have something to do with it too.

Alex, 1050ti + g4560 is a good build. Do you want list of components?

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 25 May 2017 11:26
by A-L-E-X
ephu wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Maybe it's a time to upgrade the motherboard? I know this also mean upgrade CPU and RAM, but anyway...

Question, is it a bad idea to be using the internet while running SE at the same time?  I get vast slow downs in surfing when I run them together, of course I use three different browsers at the same time so that might have something to do with it too.

Alex, 1050ti + g4560 is a good build. Do you want list of components?

Sure that would be amazing, I just didn't want to bother anyone to ask for that.  I do most of my builds through portatech.com, is that a good site to use?
If it wouldn't be too much trouble, you could scan through the customized portatech builds and we could come up with something that would be ideal for SE and be future proof for at least a few years (I'd like to keep it for 5 years or so before doing a new build.)

History of SpaceEngine

Posted: 25 May 2017 11:38
by HarbingerDawn
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post  is it a bad idea to be using the internet while running SE at the same time?

Depends on whether you're running all those apps on the same hard drive. SE does not use an internet connection, but it does read and write some data from the hard drive, as do web browsers, so if they're all running simultaneously on the same hard drive then they will slow each other down somewhat. But it shouldn't be a big problem, unless you're short on RAM. 3 browsers + SE requires a lot of memory.