Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

A very PC discussion

15 Jan 2021 23:00

A-L-E-X wrote:
DoctorOfSpace wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post does this selection automatically become available when a video card with enough VRAM is detected?

No, but you can manually enter a resolution or use the oversize app to resize the window.
Generally when I play SE I have well over 100fps in most cases, but for taking large high resolution images the 3090 is perfect and doesnt lag my system.

Doc, is there some way to take very large resolution screenshots on a 1080P display without oversizing the window?  I've been able to make 4K cubemaps but the program always stalls when I try to do it from the surfaces of planets that have dense atmospheres (it seems to work when it's a planet that doesn't have an atmosphere curiously enough.)
What I basically want to do is take a single 4K or even 8K screenshot of my SE window when I'm only running SE at 1080P or even windowed 720P mode.  Theoretically the video card should be able to do this.  Especially since I can do the cubemaps in 4K (except on a planet with a dense atmosphere for some reason.)

Yes, technically you can do a viewport hack with cheat engine and trick the game into rendering into a frustum that is larger than your window. However, this will not allow you to screenshot outside of your window as you cannot capture pixels outside of it. In fact, nothing outside is rendered anyways.

Instead, what you can do is treat that as an individual tile on a much larger resolution mosaic and "build" a final screenshot with a much larger resolution by applying an offset to each "tile". Unfortunately, you can't really do this without having the source code, but it is something that is planned and in the works by none other than yours truly.

Huge screenshots also have huge sizes and most formats have a limit of 65536x65536 (if they don't run out of space and corrupt).

19200x10800
► Show Spoiler


38400x21600
Google drive link since chrome cannot load the image (firefox can!)
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2442
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

15 Jan 2021 23:06

Right, this is exactly what I want.  Just a much higher resolution version of what I already see inside my window (and nothing outside of it.)  Thanks so much you're a wiz!  So I can do this kind of thing natively within the program (wont need a third party app) by the time you've finished modifying the code to allow for it?

So let's say my window size is 1080P, can I get everything within that window to be blown up into a 4K or 8K screenshot?  (Sort of like digital zoom but with added detail from within the image that is too small to see in the 1080P window.)
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

A very PC discussion

15 Jan 2021 23:18

A-L-E-X wrote:
So let's say my window size is 1080P, can I get everything within that window to be blown up into a 4K or 8K screenshot?  (Sort of like digital zoom but with added detail from within the image that is too small to see in the 1080P window.)

Correct. That's how it's meant to work. It's intended to allow for rendering at much higher resolutions with low end computers. The screenshots above and below were done with a 1000x1000 window. And yes, no third party app.
Last edited by Phunnie on 18 Jan 2021 01:06, edited 3 times in total.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 137
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

A very PC discussion

16 Jan 2021 00:31

Oh, I have to add, there are still some caveats to the whole process right now.
SE internally will limit the maximum texture resolution, so at some point with absurd resolutions (>16k) you'll start seeing the texture itself becoming blurry rather than the image being pixelated. Essentially it looks like an ultra high resolution image of a lower resolution texture. This doesn't happen with everything, but planets are one of the things limited by that. Black hole accretion disks on the other hand are completely unaffected by this.

Here's an example of what I mean with tiny sections of an image with an absurd resolution:
Planet:
Image

Black hole:
Image

I'll say it again. This is a very, very tiny section of the whole image. You have to zoom in a lot.
Here are the originals. Both 32000x32000, so google drive links again.
Planet
Black Hole
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2442
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

17 Jan 2021 07:01

Phunnie wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
So let's say my window size is 1080P, can I get everything within that window to be blown up into a 4K or 8K screenshot?  (Sort of like digital zoom but with added detail from within the image that is too small to see in the 1080P window.)

Correct. That's how it's meant to work. It's intended to allow for rendering at much higher resolutions with low end computers. The screenshots above were both done with a 1000x1000 window. And yes, no third party app.

I dont have a low end computer I'm just running a lot of programs at the same time across multiple monitors and it creates a roadblock.  I probably should get a new video card though.  I have an 8 core / 16 thread processor Ryzen 2700X (will probably upgrade to Ryzen 5xxx series) 32 GB of memory and my VC is a 1060 GTX with 6 GB VRAM.  I would think the VC upgrade is needed since that is the bottleneck?

WOW PHUNNIE THIS IS BETTER THAN DIGITAL CAMERA QUALITY!  This is exactly what I want....I want to be in orbit around planets or on a planet getting the kind of image quality as if I was a tourist there with a professional digital camera!
 
User avatar
Challenger
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: 26 Oct 2020
Location: USA

A very PC discussion

08 Feb 2021 06:08

Yes, you can buy a more powerful graphics card to improve the performance of your computer, especially if the applications are heavy. I tuned mine and therefore allowed myself to buy a high-quality gaming monitor. The article https://homemakerguide.com/best-gaming-monitor-under-300/ helped a lot in choosing. I read what and how, opted for Samsung. I thought and thought, but nevertheless decided to take a proven brand, did not dare to buy something unfamiliar.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest