Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Spacer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 224
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: mevaseret zion, israel

A very PC discussion

05 May 2017 04:58

NathanKerbonaut, can you measure your desk? my monitor is 22 inches and i still got lot of room on my desk for speakers and the internet router
"Exploration is in our nature. We began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan
 
User avatar
NathanKerbonaut
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Confederacy of Humanity
Contact:

A very PC discussion

05 May 2017 05:34

Sure, but I'll have to do it later once I get home from school.
Lover of cute typhlosions and space games. Profile pic source: http://bit.ly/2fiRJmW
My mods: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=173
I'm Thomas988 on the old forums, in case you need to know.
 
User avatar
NathanKerbonaut
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 55
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Confederacy of Humanity
Contact:

A very PC discussion

05 May 2017 13:41

There's about 30 inches of space. Sorry 'bout the wait.
Lover of cute typhlosions and space games. Profile pic source: http://bit.ly/2fiRJmW
My mods: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=173
I'm Thomas988 on the old forums, in case you need to know.
 
A-L-E-X
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 420
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

24 May 2017 22:04

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Spacer wrote:
Source of the post  as a one with 1TB of ssd i can say that switching to ssd from HDD changed my gaming-computering life, so much smoother and faster, you will enjoy it alot!

The price though is ridiculously prohibitive.

When will HD virtual memory get to be as fast as DDR memory :P
 
A-L-E-X
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 420
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

24 May 2017 22:05

Spacer wrote:
beautiful great pc! the next thing you should focus on i think is the gpu. i got the 970 too but soon it wont serve us well  :D
other than that, all of the rig is superb. as a one with 1TB of ssd i can say that switching to ssd from HDD changed my gaming-computering life, so much smoother and faster, you will enjoy it alot! 

Wow, imagine if the 970 isn't enough to run SE, that will make SE probably the most complex "game" out there.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 686
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

30 Jun 2017 11:42

Week and a half of waiting and my upgrade from Founders Edition to an Aftermarket GPU is over

Image
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

A very PC discussion

30 Jun 2017 11:44

That's a thing of beauty. I'm jealous.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Spacer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 224
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: mevaseret zion, israel

A very PC discussion

30 Jun 2017 11:52

indeed, we stay with the 970
"Exploration is in our nature. We began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

A very PC discussion

16 Jul 2017 17:24

My current setup

Image
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 686
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

16 Jul 2017 17:45

Digging the mouse pad and dual monitors.  Would you recommend having more than 1 monitor?  What sort of performance hit do you take from that?
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

A very PC discussion

16 Jul 2017 17:54

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Source of the post Would you recommend having more than 1 monitor?  What sort of performance hit do you take from that?

I HIGHLY recommend it. The quality of life improvement makes it extremely worthwhile. Put your chat windows on one monitor while you browse the web on the other, or use SE, etc.

As for performance impact, I haven't benchmarked it, but it seems to be small. The performance I get in games is about what I would expect from my card on a single monitor. The overhead for just having your desktop extended is minimal I think. If you want to game on multiple monitors, that's another story.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

A very PC discussion

17 Jul 2017 00:04

Some specs and pricing for a couple of AMD's Threadripper processors.



Long story short, Intel is in serious trouble in the super-high-end desktop and datacenter markets.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 686
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

17 Jul 2017 10:17

Threadripper is absolutely ridiculous 
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Marko S.
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 133
Joined: 02 Jul 2017
Location: Serbia

A very PC discussion

26 Jul 2017 04:04

I have one problem regarding my RAM memory. I was curious yesterday about my specs and I clicked properties on 'This PC'. When I checked, I noticed that it was showing 8 gigs of ram but only 3.96 gigs usable. I was like "How can this happen?" I maybe had that problem even before I noticed it, but I didn't look at it. I have Windows 10 64-bit version so it can't be a problem of 32-bit version. I looked on the internet for solutions, but I didn't want to mess things up. I then opened my computer case. That was actually my first time opening this pc since I bought it in 2014. When I opened it, I had sometething to see. It was full of dust and web. I took a picture from my phone camera because it was so dirty that I didn't know where to start. I cleaned it but not the best. I plugged all the cables and speed of computer was still slow as always. I didn't see much of a progress. Properties didn't want to open, that was normal for my PC. Sometimes it wouldn't open same as AMD Radeon settings and Windows updater (This actually never opens).

I still didn't find the solution for this. Maybe it is just saying that I have that much of memory, when in reality I have 8 gb. If anyone here knows something that I am missing, help would be nice. Maybe I should free some disk space since I have 300GB free out from 1TB. Or maybe I should clean better RAM in my motherboard? Or, just to reinstall windows... That would be painfull for me since I have so much data on this computer. But I will delete some usless files.
Thanks! If you need more info, ask me.
Specs: Ram: 8gb | Vram: 1gb | Graphics card: AMD Radeon | Hard-drive: 1tb | Processor: AMD Athlon X4 750 Quad Core Processor | CPU: 3.40 GHz | OS: Win 10 and XP (lol) |
We use time just to orientate through space.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

A very PC discussion

26 Jul 2017 05:15

Re-seat the RAM (remove it and put it back in). If that doesn't work, it's possible that some of your RAM is bad.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests