Ultimate space simulation software

 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

12 Apr 2020 05:04

The LG seems to be the best one you have!  I also bought a Dell in 2001 and that one lasted me until 2013 which was when I got the Viewsonic.  The Dell was a big 1600x1200 screen, I miss it!  I dont think they make that size anymore.....

That old Dell was $1700 back in 2001!

Looks like this Sony from 2005 is going to outlast all my other ones lol.  It was less than $600.  Only inconvenient thing about it are that the power and control buttons are at the bottom!

Do you connect all your screens to the same computer and use them all at once?
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 476
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

12 Apr 2020 19:18

I do it the other way, connect all my PCs to the same display where I can and switch input depending on which PC I use. Only issue is my other PC atm has DVI only where my screen is DP and HDMI so I need to get an adapter.

My LG monitor I got last year is 1440p, great upgrade from 900p that's for sure!
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

14 Apr 2020 12:53

vlad01 wrote:
I do it the other way, connect all my PCs to the same display where I can and switch input depending on which PC I use. Only issue is my other PC atm has DVI only where my screen is DP and HDMI so I need to get an adapter.

My LG monitor I got last year is 1440p, great upgrade from 900p that's for sure!

You can get those adapters pretty cheaply, I have two gold plated ones that are DVI---> HDMI
That Viewsonic monitor sucks, I can only now get it to work if I hold the power cable lol.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

29 Apr 2020 10:49

My secondary monitor is working again, but when I tried to run both 0990 and 0980 at the same time, it went out again (but its power light stayed on- strange!).  I shut off the computer from the UPS and restarted and it's working again, and it works fine as long as I only run 0990.
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

A very PC discussion

08 May 2020 12:12

I've upped my RAM from 16 to 32 GB ([email protected] QuadChannel)). But I couldn't find same latency as my original kit (CL15) and had to compromise with CL16. Hope its not a big deal performance wise :( ..
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

12 May 2020 13:10

N0B0DY wrote:
I've upped my RAM from 16 to 32 GB ([email protected] QuadChannel)). But I couldn't find same latency as my original kit (CL15) and had to compromise with CL16. Hope its not a big deal performance wise :( ..

Ugh maybe I should have gone for upgrading my video card instead, the Gigabyte 1060 6 GB..... but I couldn't find any other card with dual DVI ports.....
Has the additional RAM impacted your SE performance?
On a more positive note, I got my Viewsonic monitor to work by propping it up on a wall (since it didn't come with a stand for some reason.)
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 476
Joined: 02 May 2018

A very PC discussion

17 Sep 2020 02:17

So now that the 30 series reviews are out what do people think?

To me it looks a lot like a repeat of the 200 series back in 09 or so. Back then a massive increase(almost double) the FPUs, massive increase in transistor count, big TDP increase but only a modest gain in performance, actually these are even less than the 200 series was over the 9800 series.

Overall not bad in a vacuum and at a decent price point but technologically kind of meh, as in that node shrink and gain in transistors aren't doing much for performance and efficiency, in fact the later is almost the same as the 20 series despite the node shrink.

The other thing I have noticed in all the reviews is the architecture has poor scaling below 4K which is really odd. So anyone getting one of these for 1080p or 1440p are going to be disappointed if they already have 20 series or even one of the higher end pascal cards.  The 3080 was only showing gains of about 20% over the 2080ti at 1440p and iirc around 15%? at 1080p, while 4k was bit over 30% which is decent.

As for the yet to be reviewed 3090, I reckon it might only outpace the 3080 by 10% give or take, it's got 19% more FPUs but they already scale not so good at the lower count of the 3080.

Overall I feel it's better than 20 series but still not impressed by it given the specs on paper and the claimed figures nvidia gave pre-review.  That's my 2c anyway.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1297
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

18 Sep 2020 14:06

So I bought a 5960X off ebay, it came in today

8 core 16 threads running stable at 4Ghz
If I had a better cooler I could get this thing stable at 4.5Ghz ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎ me
I was able to get it up to 4.5Ghz at 1.3v but my cooler couldnt handle it, 90C temps are bad
4.2ghz was floating around 75 to 80C, way too high
4Ghz hits the peak proper higher temperature limit for this CPU

With a 4Ghz clock I match a Ryzen 3600X like I figured

Image

This should hold me over for another year or longer until AM5 and DDR5
CPU: Intel Core i7-5960X 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

18 Sep 2020 14:43

Your CPU sounds like it's about on par with my 2700X.  I was considering upgrading to the 3700X but I dont know how much of an upgrade that would be?

What kind of cooler, Doc?

Still using the 1080 Ti as your GPU?

I'm still using my 1060 6 GB, since I dont have any screens that go higher than 1080P.

I have 32 GB RAM now also (but it's 2x16 rather than 4x8 like yours is), and mine is DDR4-2666.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1297
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

18 Sep 2020 15:16

A-L-E-X, roughly this 5960X matches a 3600X

Still using an H90 cooler, still using 1080 Ti, was gonna get a 3080 but the sites kept crashing and purchase was voided.  May just wait for 3080 Ti.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5960X 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

19 Sep 2020 13:38

Thanks Doc!  Have you tried Phunnie's 30 million star GAIA add-on?  It does impact performance (mainly in longer start times) but once you get it loaded, it doesn't seem to slow things down too much.  It does seem to be RAM intensive as one would expect, but within reasonable limits for a 16-32 GB system.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1297
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

A very PC discussion

19 Sep 2020 13:42

I have tried all of his addons, for general use I stick to his 800k addon.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5960X 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2206
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

A very PC discussion

19 Sep 2020 14:09

Thanks, I may do that or else go back to the 5M one, the 8 min start time of the 30M add-on is a bit annoying (I also get some odd image blackouts when trying to screen shot, I didn't think much of it because they only last a split second, but I suspect that's also a result of the memory load, even on a 32 GB system?  I also keep all procedural stuff on, because I dont want other galaxies to look empty lol.)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest