Free planetarium

 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Earth - Temperate Terra (With Life)
Contact:

TRAPPIST-1

17 Mar 2017 12:09

Gnargenox can I have a link to that page?
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Explorer
Posts: 157
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

TRAPPIST-1

17 Mar 2017 14:28

TheRedstoneHive wrote:
Source of the post can I have a link to that page?

I believe you mean this one?
Trappist-1h by Rod Luger
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Earth - Temperate Terra (With Life)
Contact:

TRAPPIST-1

17 Mar 2017 18:31

Gnargenox I mean the one where you showed a photo of TRAPPIST-1 h's shadow.
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Space Tourist
Posts: 34
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

TRAPPIST-1

22 Mar 2017 06:49

SpaceEngineer wrote:
A new article about the TRAPPIST-1 system. The planet h is completely confirmed now - its orbital period is 18.764 days. Also, rotation period of the star is measured - 3.3 days. All data is added to the updated addon pak. The link in the opening post is updated also.

TRAPPIST-1.pak

Strange thing - I have to reduce the star luminosity back to it original value of 0.000525 (bolometric, not visual). In my 0.98 installation it gives correct temperatures on planets (not accounting for greenhouse and albedo).

I also forced atmosphere and clouds on some planets, so they are looking more realistic.

Rotational axis of the star have some fake values, just to make its equator coincide with orbits of planets, which is very likely. BTW, I found a bug in 0.98 - parameters PoleRA and PoleDec gives incorrect result, probably related with a known bug of wrong orientation of the equatorial grid. So our own Sun has incorrect rotation too. It is fixed for 0.981.

PS: I renamed this thread to TRAPPIST-1, because it is completely about this system. The new exoplanets thread is here.

SpaceEngineer Than You! Only one small prob: After I install the latest update I get this strange error message in console:
► Show Spoiler

Also trappist -1 appears twice in F3 list. ? I delete cahce folder after install.How stupid I am - I now noticed it is a bug of 0.980 and fixed for next release - ignore my post.
Last edited by N0B0DY on 25 Mar 2017 02:12, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Explorer
Posts: 157
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

TRAPPIST-1

22 Mar 2017 08:29

Sorry I didn't see your second clarifying question TheRedstoneHive
Trappist-1h transit photo on Twitter
I hope I got it right this time for ya!
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest